Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-04-2020, 02:37 PM
grammymixer grammymixer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Nashville
Posts: 10
Default FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

It is absolutely insane to think of the tens of thousands of dollars spent on HDX cards and Avid interfaces that are limited to 256 voices, when you can spend a thousand dollars on UAD Apollo twin and get 384 voices - 50% more than a HDX user!

Avid.... time to step up on this one... this is a complete scam.

You are literally punishing your most valuable customers! 384 should be the MINIMUM... why not 512? Surely you can do that if a native thunderbolt interface can provide 384 voices.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2020, 02:06 AM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 423
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

They can't. they tried and failed so the feature was abandoned.


EJ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2020, 04:37 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 13,157
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

And EVERY Customer is equally Valuable to any Company!
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2020, 05:09 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,293
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
They can't. they tried and failed so the feature was abandoned.
They could and they did, just that they found out some percentage of old cards fail the firmware update so work is stil in progress. At least this is an announced feature that has not been officially pulled so what do we know until they say something?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2020, 01:33 PM
JCBigler's Avatar
JCBigler JCBigler is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 2,777
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
They could and they did, just that they found out some percentage of old cards fail the firmware update so work is stil in progress. At least this is an announced feature that has not been officially pulled so what do we know until they say something?
They announced that like, what? two years ago now? You'd think if it was possible they would have figured it out by now.

My guess is that the only fix is to replace the cards themselves, and Avid doesn't want to eat that cost and they know their customers will be in an uproar if they try to make them pay for it themselves.
__________________
Justice C. Bigler
www.justicebigler.com

Lenovo P50: quad-core i7-6820hq, 64GB, 2TB SSD, Win 10 Pro / HD|Native-TB / Protools Ultimate 2020.5

Home/mobile: Focusrite Red 8Pre / Clarett 4Pre
Road/hotel: Roland OctaCaputre / Apogee One
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2020, 01:35 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,293
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

It was supposed tobe 2019.5 feature, but it has been skipped so far.

If you ask me, assuming I remember correctly, they should have just accepted the fact that 15% of the cards need to be replaced on Avid's cost. That would have been far better than this negative publicity. But as always, they didn't ask me
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2020, 04:25 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,914
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
It was supposed tobe 2019.5 feature, but it has been skipped so far.

If you ask me, assuming I remember correctly, they should have just accepted the fact that 15% of the cards need to be replaced on Avid's cost. That would have been far better than this negative publicity. But as always, they didn't ask me
I just wish Avid would say one way or another. If they still intend to do it then say so. If they can’t do it, tell us. That way I’ll probably get another card because I keep running out of voices. But then I’d be really p***** if they then increased the voice count at a later date.

I doubt Avid will pre-announce new features again!
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2020, 11:57 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,293
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
I doubt Avid will pre-announce new features again!
For sure. Lesson learnt
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-2020, 12:33 AM
Tobias Eichelberg Tobias Eichelberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 342
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

Well...here's what they could do instead - unlock 128 I/O in CoreAudio for Pro Tools Ultimate software! We're paying quite a premium every year, yet we suffer being limited on all ends.

Last edited by Tobias Eichelberg; 09-06-2020 at 12:45 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-06-2020, 12:35 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,293
Default Re: FEATURE REQUEST: Give HDX *at least* the same voice count as a non-HDX interface

There is no HDX software

Either they open CA limits for all CA or keep it as is. HDX hardware I/O is limited by the hardware you have
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT 10 HD3 TDM voice count? wtfil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 08-18-2014 09:52 AM
HD7 voice count Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 11-13-2011 02:08 AM
Advantage of More DSP's for Same Voice Count? SuperReverb Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 02-01-2009 06:56 AM
PT HD voice count garnoil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 11-05-2008 08:47 PM
Voice count for PT NT|24 Mix Euphony Sound Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 04-21-1999 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:26 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com