Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-2003, 07:42 AM
Lord Humungous Lord Humungous is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: london, ontario, canada
Posts: 77
Default Converting stereo to mono in PT

Hi all,

I was wondering if anyone is aware of a simple way to do channel converts in Pro Tools - for instance, if I import a stereo drum loop into PT and I want to sum the channels to mono. I'm not talking about using just the left or right channel of a split-stereo track. I want them attenuated and summed. I believe SoundForge does this quickly and painlessly (but I don't own it). Anyhow, if someone knows if Pro Tools can accomplish this I'd appreciate a heads up.

Thanks,
LH
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-20-2003, 10:48 AM
Crabby Crabby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1
Default Re: Converting stereo to mono in PT

Click the output button of your stereo track, then select "bus 1 (mono)" as your output. Create a mono audio track and make bus 1 its input. Record the stereo track to the mono track and your stereo track will be summed to the mono track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2003, 02:07 PM
metaltim metaltim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: College Station whoop
Posts: 939
Default Re: Converting stereo to mono in PT

if you go look under 'file' there is an option that says 'split selected tracks into mono'
is that what you are looking for??
tim
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2003, 09:03 PM
where02190 where02190 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Boston, Ma USA
Posts: 8,145
Default Re: Converting stereo to mono in PT

Split selected tracks to mono will give you separate left and right tracks as mono tracks. I think you are trying to make your stereo drums mono, perhaps to gain a track.

Pan them center will of coure make them mono, then bussing as described above and recording will give you a single mono track of your stereo drums.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2003, 10:11 PM
King Kong King Kong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 207
Default Re: Converting stereo to mono in PT

how about just select your stereo trakcs, then go to 'Audio File' and select 'export selected file as' and set the export part to mono.?
__________________
King Kong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Converting Stereo to Mono Tritonemusic 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 01-05-2011 03:24 PM
Converting Stereo to Mono audio trax DonaldM Tips & Tricks 12 11-10-2009 06:00 AM
converting stereo tracks to mono bigboi78 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 07-23-2005 12:42 PM
converting a mono track to stereo cdp2004 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 08-07-2004 06:38 AM
Need help converting a stereo track to mono Siberian 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 03-18-2004 09:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com