Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-31-2008, 10:28 PM
mondoJML mondoJML is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Calgary
Posts: 25
Default Anyone still using Loco/Titan? Need to do some re-assembly

Just about to start a feature and the video editor used that nasty two track mixdown coming from the location mixer and I need to re-assemble the timeline using the 24/48 multichannel audio. The problem is that he started each new sound reel with a new timecode hour (reel 1 is 01:00:00:00, reel 2 is 02:00:00:00, reel 13 is 13:00:00:00, etc). I would like to try out Assemblerator but from what I understand, I wouldn't be able to spot any audio that goes past 12:00:00:00 to its original timestamp due to the 12 hour limitation in Pro Tools. I know that I can just have a different session start time to allow for this but Assemblerator will want to paste the audio way back down in the 1 hour mark. Is there a way around this?

I have seen it said here in the DUC that some of you use Final Cut to do a re-conform. How exactly does that work? I have been given audio-only EDL's and I also have the location audio with metadata intact. If I can re-link the audio in FCP, will the resulting OMF have the other channels available once I get it into Pro Tools?

Does anyone here still use Titan/Loco? Their websites haven't been updated in years and I assume the same can be said for the software. They are quite expensive and I don't want to make a wrong move.

Any advice/tips you guys can give me would be most appreciated. Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2008, 12:58 PM
JanuS JanuS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 251
Default Re: Anyone still using Loco/Titan? Need to do some re-assem

I suppose your picture editor didn't made a 13th reel. Your feature film wouldn't last 260 minutes, or does it?
Titan would do the trick though. Titan knows there's a 12hr limit in PT, and a 24hr limit in harddisk location recorders.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-01-2008, 03:57 PM
Matt Stutter Matt Stutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wellington, NZ
Posts: 571
Default Re: Anyone still using Loco/Titan? Need to do some re-assem

There are offset options in Assemblerator (to adjust for the ANNOYANCE of Pro Tools not working with a timeline over 12 hours...). So it's certainly possible to work around the limitations of Pro Tool's timeline.

It's a much cheaper option than Titan.

This is something I'm about to get stuck into as well - FCP assembling could be an option, but I'm still yet to see if the latest FCP can "actually" read the TC information from BWF files.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-10-2008, 11:26 AM
The Cargo Cult's Avatar
The Cargo Cult The Cargo Cult is offline
The Cargo Cult
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 296
Default Re: Anyone still using Loco/Titan? Need to do some re-assem

and as we all know, FCP can only do embedded OMFs.
so relinking in FCP means a whole new set of audio files for every handover.
you'll never have a complete set of prod audio and the OMF files will never relate to the originals.

sigh.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-21-2008, 01:38 PM
Noiz2 Noiz2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Detroit MI & SF CA
Posts: 1,989
Default Re: Anyone still using Loco/Titan? Need to do some re-assem

Quote:
I suppose your picture editor didn't made a 13th reel. Your feature film wouldn't last 260 minutes, or does it?
Titan would do the trick though. Titan knows there's a 12hr limit in PT, and a 24hr limit in harddisk location recorders.
Editorial reels are traditionally 1000' reels not A/B 2000' reels so 13 reels is actually around 1 1/2 - 2 hrs. Titanic had 23 reels, till we switched to A/B reels.
__________________
www.scottkouesound.com
SK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Production Assembly?? Naylorfreak Post - Surround - Video 0 04-06-2012 12:04 PM
Loco for latency jasdell MIDI 4 04-29-2009 02:33 PM
DEVA Dialog Assembly JKD99 Post - Surround - Video 7 09-01-2005 08:40 PM
bloody hell! ADR es loco! chagos Post - Surround - Video 13 11-18-2004 08:29 PM
computer assembly question in10shun 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 05-13-2002 03:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com