Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2011, 06:40 AM
fourthtunz fourthtunz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bangor,me
Posts: 410
Default Upgrading your 192 i/0

I suppose with the 192 becoming obsolete many won't be upgrading but I am thinking about upgrading.
Anyone here done the Mitch berger upgrade or sent your 192 to black lion for an upgrade?
What are your impressions?
  #2  
Old 12-28-2011, 08:33 AM
dtmprod dtmprod is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 434
Default Re: Upgrading your 192 i/0

I asked Black Lion about compatibility. Because the blue face uses the older style connectors, it won't hook up to the HDX card. Black Lion isn't able to update that aspect, only the convertors.
  #3  
Old 12-28-2011, 09:23 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: Upgrading your 192 i/0

The Blue interfaces WILL hook up to the HDX cards, and work. This has been stated by Avid. It's just that they won't be supported past PT10. It's possible they may still work, but won't be supported.

So if you plan on staying with 10 for a while, it might be something to consider.

However, knowing the short life span, the cost is very high to modify them, and that same $3500 (minimum) could go toward one of the new HD IO's, which sound extremely good, and will be supported for a long time.
  #4  
Old 12-28-2011, 11:38 AM
phatbeatstudio phatbeatstudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: canada
Posts: 566
Default Re: Upgrading your 192 i/0

They do sound GREAT highly recomended.
You need a mini adaptor for your Digilink cable
Even if you got the B.L.A mod you would have
$1000 at least worth into the 192 i/o
$3500 into the mod acording to previous
= $4500 or more
but you would be out 8 analog i or o plus the mini digilink
the HDi/o comes with
  #5  
Old 12-28-2011, 08:37 PM
fourthtunz fourthtunz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bangor,me
Posts: 410
Default Re: Upgrading your 192 i/0

Quote:
Originally Posted by nst7 View Post
The Blue interfaces WILL hook up to the HDX cards, and work. This has been stated by Avid. It's just that they won't be supported past PT10. It's possible they may still work, but won't be supported.

So if you plan on staying with 10 for a while, it might be something to consider.

However, knowing the short life span, the cost is very high to modify them, and that same $3500 (minimum) could go toward one of the new HD IO's, which sound extremely good, and will be supported for a long time.
I just sold my g5/pci tdm setup and got a pci/hd1 PT 10hd 192 for my macpro
and will be happy to stay with that setup for a while.
Very happy that the prices have come down so much!
I was wondering how many people have tried the upgrades.
The mitch berger upgrade is just upgrading the cards, so you can start with just an A/d card.
I think it's $500 or so.
It's very reasonable but wanted to hear what people thought about the upgrades before I took the jump.
Thanks all!
  #6  
Old 12-28-2011, 08:43 PM
the dude's Avatar
the dude the dude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Burbank , Kalifornia, USA
Posts: 1,184
Default Re: Upgrading your 192 i/0

Quote:
Originally Posted by fourthtunz View Post
I suppose with the 192 becoming obsolete many won't be upgrading but I am thinking about upgrading.
Anyone here done the Mitch berger upgrade or sent your 192 to black lion for an upgrade?
What are your impressions?
Dude I'll give you a list of satisfied customers if you ask Via my email or just call ?
__________________

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
http://www.studio-techservices.com

าำ
studio.tech@yahoo.comm
Mitch Berger Tech Services




We service ALL Avid products no Problem
HD192, 192, Omni, Control Surface, Pre, XMON, 192HD AD & DA / Accel Cards, Everything

ALL NEW HD192 AD -DA modification. the difference is incredible... no need to ship the entire unit , fast turn around

inquiry using link above
Repairs of SSL-Neve- Consoles and Repair ALL Modern & Vintage Gear
  #7  
Old 12-28-2011, 11:05 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: Upgrading your 192 i/0

If it's $500 and he just mods the cards, that sounds very reasonable and might be worth doing.
  #8  
Old 12-29-2011, 08:04 AM
fourthtunz fourthtunz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: bangor,me
Posts: 410
Default Re: Upgrading your 192 i/0

Quote:
Originally Posted by the dude View Post
Dude I'll give you a list of satisfied customers if you ask Via my email or just call ?
I've no doubt about that just wanted to hear from others that have done it.
I upgraded my 002 and it did sound better.
Guess I'm trying to talk myself into it!
This rig is more for me right now more than for recording others and I'm trying to justify the cost!
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading from pt9 to pt11 and upgrading macbook pro daylomusic Pro Tools 11 0 12-20-2013 03:35 PM
Upgrading to PT10HD without upgrading to HDX Epik Productions Pro Tools 10 4 10-21-2011 11:50 AM
Upgrading interface without upgrading software? michaelkevin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-16-2008 10:37 PM
Will upgrading OSX necessitate upgrading ProTools? OBwan50 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 02-27-2006 02:24 AM
Upgrading CPU BLOODSOUND 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 11-10-2004 12:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com