Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-01-2008, 09:54 PM
Cawbaby Cawbaby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 173
Default Basic 8 ch D-command

OK you Icon experts. I've been mixing music sessions in the box for years now with only my computer. The analog Harrison console I've been using for monitoring & tracking is now on it's last leg and I'm thinking of moving to a D-command. I've never even worked with a Pro Control. I'm trying to keep my nut as low as possible, especially in these times so I'm contemplating the basic 8 channel D-Command surface. I'm curious if it's easy or even possible to switch or shuttle thru 8 tracks at a time in sessions with track counts between 24 and say 50? I'm sure a 24 track surface would be a lot easier but would any of you even consider using only 8 at a time? Any comments would be appreciated,
thanx
Craig
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-02-2008, 12:41 AM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

I had an 8 channel DCommand in the office for 6 months, the fader pack that made it a 24 channel was out on loan and consequently I had to adjust to driving medium sized mixes (32-64 channels) on 8 faders rather than 24.
Simply? Using VCAs.

Attach a VCA to a group - and how many of your groups have more than 8 channels in them? Not the majority I would think - and then you can focus on your VCAs to balance and whenever you need to balance inside your VCA group hit the "BYP-SPL" button on that channel and pop, there are the members of the group that VCA contains. Another single button press to "Tracks" brings your VCAs back onto the surface so your mix is somewhat like working at two levels...VCA masters dive in to slaves then dive out back to masters and keep mixing.

Its very intuitive once you get the hang of it, and for the EQ/Dyn section and being able to use AutoJoin and all the other ICON specific automation features I'd much rather have only 8 faders plus all that rather than 24 faders on a C24 without the other IMHO.
More info on ICON features at www.brentheber.com simply choose ICON tips on the category chooser on the left if you need to see videos of some of this in action.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2008, 08:29 PM
Cawbaby Cawbaby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 173
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

Thanx Brent, these videos will help alot.
-Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-06-2008, 05:57 AM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 957
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

For some reason this page takes me 10 minutes to load and then there are no videos. happens on 2 different browsers. Any clues?
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-09-2008, 06:34 PM
Brent_Sydney Brent_Sydney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 442
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

Ive checked in Australia and New Zealand and the sites working fine.
Its hosted in the USA so I'm not sure why youve be getting a problem over there that we're not seeing here?
The videos are hosted on www.revver.com maybe check if that site loads for you? If it doesnt then you may have a problem with flash player.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-11-2008, 06:40 PM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent_Sydney View Post
Ive checked in Australia and New Zealand and the sites working fine.
Its hosted in the USA so I'm not sure why youve be getting a problem over there that we're not seeing here?
The videos are hosted on www.revver.com maybe check if that site loads for you? If it doesnt then you may have a problem with flash player.
Brent,

I hate to ask such a personal off topic question, but do you know a Paul? from NZ from years ago? Used to be a part of the Mountain Rock festivals, and a bunch of other Pepsi sponsored European tours. (If so, contact me and I'll fill you in on the rest of his name and other info)

I know him very well personally and am trying to find someone he knows from years ago, and over there, to entertain a joint venture inwhich he has orchestrated and not implemented. I need to motivate him. Maybe you know who he is. maybe not. (This venture involves corporate level pepsi both in US and possibly EU)

shortyemcee@gmail.com

be blessed....
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-12-2008, 02:27 AM
Ian Palmer Ian Palmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Cardiff
Posts: 141
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

I use a ProControl at work all the time. A normal session would comprise of around 80-90 tracks on average. I have to say that scrolling along the faders is simple and once you get used to it is grand. On the other hand I would prefer to be able to see more tracks on faders as with large sessions you can sometimes get lost. We also have a 24 fader D-Control which is far more intuitive to use than the ProControl, especially as it displays more information on the console than the ProControl can.

I try to look at the tracks in the edit and mixer windows as they show you where you are on the faders.

Again, once you're used to it, it's fine and easy to use.
__________________
Ian Palmer
Sound Designer & Dubbing Mixer
@ianpalmersound

Website
IMDB

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-12-2008, 08:40 AM
Table Syrup Records's Avatar
Table Syrup Records Table Syrup Records is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,485
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

I used to work off the Tascam FW1884, very similar to the ProControl, or any 8 Fader controller I guess.....

I used to pull a little trick to keep things organized......

Let's say I had a section of vocals, say 6 tracks. I'd insert/create 2 more tracks, drop the fader, and mute them. I'd position them after whatever group I was trying to isolate. This would give me that particular group on that bank, and push the next tracks out to the next bank.

Did that all the time. In Sonar it wasn't an issue because I didn't have a track count issue, in PTLE now, even with 48, I wouldn't be able to do that.... many of my sessions are over 40 tracks, but I also have a Control 24 now, so things are different.

I can tell you that the 24 is freaking great! A great fader count in my opinion. But 8 is still extremely manageable. Just a surface at all is great, 4 faders would be irritating, but even if that's all I had, I'd still make good use of the control, hands on, automation, and feel of ANY amount of faders.
__________________
Shorty: Table Syrup Records

Mac Pro 5,1 3.33 GHz Hex, 32GB
EFI Flashed - 5 GT/s Modded 7950, Dual Apple 23"
OSX Sierra
Pro Tools HD 11.2.2
Waves IOS, IOX, STG2412
Extreme Server (x2)
Logic Pro X, DSP Quattro, Final Cut Pro X
Waves Mercury+SSL+AbbeyRoads
Trident S65 with embedded US-2400

Live:
2012 Mac Mini, Dual SSD, i7 2.4, 16GB
Win 10, OSX Sierra
LV1, MRSG
Hardware from above (same gear)
Dual Dell P2418HT Touch Screens
Waves Icon X (x2), M, with Screens
Custom enclosure
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-22-2008, 12:24 AM
Daniel_Dettwiler Daniel_Dettwiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: ch 4125 riehen
Posts: 456
Default Re: Basic 8 ch D-command

I have been mixing on a 8 Channal D-Command for years now. Sometimes I wished I had 24 Channals, but it is not a big problem with 8 Channals either. In that time apart from mixing my usual jazz projects (24 - 32 Tracks) I also have mixed about 6 big Filmmusic Scores sith over 150 Tracks, and even that can be handled with 8 Channals, using the VCA Trick already mentioned.
That said I am thinking to install a 32 Channal D-Control finally, but I think it is totally great what an 8 Channal D-Command already can do!

Daniel
www.ideeundklang.com
__________________
Daniel Dettwiler
Idee & Klang
www.ideeundklang.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Basic & not so Basic Copyright Info everone should know. DrFord General Discussion 3 11-07-2010 05:49 PM
...some basic questions needing basic answers aponceenrile 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-12-2010 11:48 AM
[D-COMMAND] HELP#3 - Basic operation dsstudio ICON & C|24 1 01-30-2009 01:36 AM
Basic HD System with One 192 I/O and the Command|8 ASPSA Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 35 03-12-2007 12:41 AM
Basic Pro Tools use. Really Basic question. Shizznik_McRuube 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-14-2002 12:41 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com