Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-06-2006, 09:05 AM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 285
Default Dolby Digital EX question

Hi Guys,

I have a non PT question, but this seems to be the most concentrated group of Dolby experts I can find, so here goes.

A customer has contracted me to do a series of live music “closed circuit” satellite broadcasts in 7.1.
Discreet 7.1, “E” encode/ “screen mode” is price prohibitive, as each recipient would need to have an “E” decode box.
He is adamant that it ends up as 7.1.
The only cost effective way I can think of doing it would be as an EX flagged 5.1 AC3 mix.

My mixes will come from a Yamaha DM2000, presumably through the AES/DB25 card.

I assume during my mix, the rear 3 channels [4 speakers] need to be matrixed to Lst Rst by some box before the AC3 encode

Those matrixed surround channels along with the remaining L, C, R, LFE channels needs to be encoded as 5.1 AC3
[ I would like to monitor the EX flagged decoded audio at my position]

That AC3 data along with HD video content gets sent to a TV truck where it is encoded as MPEG 4 for satellite distribution.

So I wonder which boxes do I need to create the surround encode, and the flagged Dolby Digital .AC3 file


We currently have a 564 box, can this be used in the equation?

Thanks so much for your assistance.


Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Sofa King Music Services
412.370.6988

http://www.myspace.com/skmusicservices
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-06-2006, 06:10 PM
funkcity funkcity is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hollywood, CA, USA
Posts: 94
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question *DELETED*

Post deleted by funkcity
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-06-2006, 06:28 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

Quote:
7.1 consumer is a hoax as far as I'm concerned.
It ain't real 7.1 channels
this is what Dolby Digital EX is
take a standard 5.1 and apply a matrix encode/decode to the SL/SR channels to make the SB (Surround Back)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-06-2006, 08:24 PM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 285
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

Quote:
Quote:
7.1 consumer is a hoax as far as I'm concerned.
It ain't real 7.1 channels
this is what Dolby Digital EX is
take a standard 5.1 and apply a matrix encode/decode to the SL/SR channels to make the SB (Surround Back)
yeah...
i was interested in the reccomended encode boxes required.

Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Sofa King Music Services
412.370.6988
http://www.myspace.com/skmusicservices
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-07-2006, 07:31 AM
quadraphonics quadraphonics is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 389
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

First, to say that a Dolby Digital 5.1 EX is just a 5.1 run through a decoder is like saying that Pro Logic is just stereo run through a decoder. The idea is that discrete information is sent to a surround channel and matrixed down. Granted, this isn't a terribly popular way to mix, it seems...and a lot of DVD companies do exactly what you suggest...

Anyway, on to the topic at hand. I do not believe that the 564 has DD-EX capabilities. You would need the 569 Encoder and the 564 Decoder (to monitor). Two things to keep in mind about this however. The last time i checked, the Dolby remote/recorder software didn't have a button to select DD-EX, so you had to go into the menu system on the box to do it. It is kind of a pain inthe butt, but what are you going to do. Also, these hardware boxes do not support 23.976 TC if you were planning on having this go out with picture....

Hope that helps..

But yes, the DOlby E would have been a better solution.
__________________
Randall Smith
Audio Editor/Mixer
Starz Entertainment Group
Denver, CO
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-07-2006, 08:21 PM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 285
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

Quote:

Anyway, on to the topic at hand. I do not believe that the 564 has DD-EX capabilities. You would need the 569 Encoder and the 564 Decoder (to monitor). Two things to keep in mind about this however. The last time i checked, the Dolby remote/recorder software didn't have a button to select DD-EX, so you had to go into the menu system on the box to do it. It is kind of a pain inthe butt, but what are you going to do. Also, these hardware boxes do not support 23.976 TC if you were planning on having this go out with picture....


Thanks for your response.

so...
Ls Rs Bs go into something like the EXEU4, matrixing the 3 surround channels down to 2 Lst Rst, which are fed into the 569 box along with the L C R LFE.
Making sure to find the nested EX flag in the 569, and create my AC3 DD EX file.
Then I can use the 564 box to monitor the EX decode

correct?

Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Sofa King Music Services
412.370.6988
http://www.myspace.com/skmusicservices
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-07-2006, 08:28 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

you got it
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-2006, 06:15 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

purely out of curiosity... who does the client think is going to actually listen to this in 7.1?
In the broadcast world, even the 5.1 listening audience is something like less than 5% of the viewing audience at present...


cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-2006, 10:40 AM
Guy McDude Guy McDude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: US
Posts: 285
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

Quote:
purely out of curiosity... who does the client think is going to actually listen to this in 7.1?
In the broadcast world, even the 5.1 listening audience is something like less than 5% of the viewing audience at present...


cheers
geo
Hi,
Its a closed circuit live music satellite broadcast sent to 50 rooms.
Each room is equipped identically, with EX decode boxes and alleged proper speaker setup.

Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Sofa King Music Services
412.370.6988
http://www.myspace.com/skmusicservices
__________________
Best,
Sean

Sean McDonald
Red Medicine Recording LLC
Sofa King Music Services
www.seanmcdonald.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-10-2006, 08:15 AM
georgia georgia is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: NY,NY
Posts: 1,859
Default Re: Dolby Digital EX question

ahh....

cool..

cheers
geo
__________________
georgia hilton CAS MPSE MPE

Hilton Media Management

Film Doctors http://www.filmdoctors.com
Me... http://georgiahilton.webs.com/
Stage 32 http://www.stage32.com/profile/6569/georgia-hilton
My Production Company http://www.hiltonmm.com

CREDITS (partial) http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0385255/resume
MEMBER: IATSE LOCAL 700
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DTS vs Dolby Digital??? stormmusic Post - Surround - Video 11 08-18-2011 07:48 AM
DTS, Dolby Digital and Dolby E with Paul Neyrinck Brent_Sydney Post - Surround - Video 4 05-08-2009 04:32 PM
Digital clicks using a MTP AV, Dolby DMU, 192 I/O mont Post - Surround - Video 2 10-23-2006 06:19 PM
AC3 to Dolby Digital wav Richard Fairbanks Post - Surround - Video 9 02-14-2006 04:39 AM
DTS or Dolby DIGITAL 5.1 mix??? Rob Aubrey Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 10-02-2002 04:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com