Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-26-2014, 11:19 AM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,203
Default When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

Title says it all...
ProTools HD Cards introduced in 2002
ProTools HD Accel introduced in 2003
--- refresh to PCIe at some point ----
ProTools HDX cards introduced in 2011

History would say we have a long wait for anything in a newer form factor...

I sure wish they would just repackage HDX into silent little TB boxes but fear its a long shot looking at history...
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-26-2014, 11:29 AM
guitardom guitardom is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 6,787
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
Title says it all...
ProTools HD Cards introduced in 2002
ProTools HD Accel introduced in 2003
--- refresh to PCIe at some point ----
ProTools HDX cards introduced in 2011

History would say we have a long wait for anything in a newer form factor...

I sure wish they would just repackage HDX into silent little TB boxes but fear its a long shot looking at history...
There are enclosures available for you to do that anytime you wish. It might not be cost beneficial for them to do it.
__________________

pro-tools-pc.com


TRASHER Pro Tools Utility(updated 3-6-18)

HD Native, Avid 16x16, Eleven Rack, Focusrite Clarett 8preX, UA Quad Apollo TB.

Intel I7 6800k
Win 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-26-2014, 11:57 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

HDX cards will not get a bump until TI updates the T1 chips
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-27-2014, 12:23 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

Very much doubt they'll get a refresh. Native is fast overtaking dsp, and the less proprietary hardware they have to design and build, the more likely Avid is going to survive.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-27-2014, 12:40 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,415
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
Very much doubt they'll get a refresh. Native is fast overtaking dsp, and the less proprietary hardware they have to design and build, the more likely Avid is going to survive.
I'm just going to throw in some numbers here.

In march 2014 avid announced that it had sold over 11000 system. Let's keep it low for a moment and assume those 11000 are all the minimum system which is 1 hdx card and the omni for 9000. That's still 132M in sales, if the dealer gets 20% (Number I'm throwing here cause I don't know), Avid still made 79.2M, and that's the base minimum. This is not including second cards, HD Native, other interfaces, controllers and software sales for 2012-2014. So I think it's safe to say that it's still floating well for them even if they do make proprietary hardware.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-27-2014, 12:49 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

I'll just throw in my experience of the "great TDM card shortage of 2005", where Avid got screwed by the change in solder regulations, and resellers had to ration new TDM cards. Add to that generally a two year maximum life for a chip plant, and there are quite a few reasons why designing and building a proprietary card shouldn't be taken lightly, and also why profits from all those sales get gobbled up.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-27-2014, 12:56 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,415
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 8dB.co.uk View Post
and there are quite a few reasons why designing and building a proprietary card shouldn't be taken lightly, and also why profits from all those sales get gobbled up.
I agree, and I'm sure that this has all been taken into consideration. Keep in mind that they have been successfully selling dsp system for 20 years before HDX came out, and that their biggest competitors in dsp system UAD, have been going at it for 12 years and still doing it too. So the market is there still and as long as there's going to be a market for it, there's going to be profit for it. There are very specialized people who's job is to analyze the market trend and see if it's viable, I'm sure avid has consulted them before even going into this venture.

As for a refresh, Craig is spot on I think. Won't be before Texas instruments update the chips, and may not be at the very same minute either, as the R&D will have to see if it's viable to do the change. Avid probably bought quite a bit of those chips to make sure they wouldn't get hung into a chip shortage and to lower the cost of materials as the more you buy the lower the price is.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-27-2014, 12:59 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

Don't wish for PCIe cards to be repackaged into TB boxes - Intel are currently working on its replacement - probably USB4.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-27-2014, 01:04 AM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,415
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

With PCie 4 arriving soon which will double again the bandwidth of pcie lanes, I doubt well see any changes there might mean that TB3 is in the horizon. USB 3.1 is already going to be about equal the speed of TB 1, so it's going to be a much cheaper alternative for hardware maker to go with it. I haven't seen anything about USB 4.0 yet, and in fact after double checking, there's nothing announced for USB 4.0.
__________________
Manny.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-27-2014, 01:17 AM
8dB.co.uk 8dB.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,023
Default Re: When do you think HDX will get refreshed?

In true Intel fashion, I think USB4 is a term the press have coined while Intel think up a wizzier name.
__________________
Pro Tools Utimate 2018.7, on -

i7 5820k 6 x 4GHz (12 threads), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, BM Mini Monitor PCIe, GTX 660Ti 2GB;

Dell Laptop, i7 4x3.6GHz (8 threads ), 16GB DDR4, Win 10 Pro, GTX1060MaxQ 6GB;

"Plan B" - i7 6700k, 4 x 3.4GHz, 16GB DDR4, Sierra, AJA Kona LHi, GTX 1050Ti 4GB.

RME FireFace802 + ARC, RME Babyface

Avid D-Command, Artist Control, V-Control, Korg MicroKontrol

7.1.2 Presonus Monitors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refreshed OS, PT doesn't launch- Paul Cavins 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 01-01-2009 04:07 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com