Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Old 01-18-2009, 06:03 AM

Default Is there any way to use a Win pc as a Mac?

Hi,

I currently use PT7 on a Mac, but since my new PC is way faster than the Mac.
I consider to move to the PC to use PT.

My problem is I am an assistant engineer at a commercial studio, our PT HD rig is based on Macs, so need to remember the Mac shortcuts.

Is there any way to use a Mac keyboard and use PT on Win like using it on a Mac? If someone has took this route, please let me know what you had to do.

I'd appreciate.
Old 01-18-2009, 07:13 AM

Default Re: Is there any way to use a Win pc as a Mac?

I *think* that you might be able to but you have to find the right drivers for it. I was looking for this a while back because I like the new iMac slim keyboards, but you need to be able to find a driver that is tweaked for Windows. Also, I'm not sure if the shortcuts would transfer seeing as those Mac shortcuts are built in a Mac OS and PCs recognize different shortcuts - that would be my guess at least. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Old 01-18-2009, 07:28 AM

Look for a utility that allows remapping the keys(I know they are out there somewhere). Really, I think you only need to remap the windows and Alt keys to match the apple and option keys so it should be simple once you find the utility.

The better I drink, the more I mix

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Old 01-18-2009, 12:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by albee1952 View Post