Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-20-2002, 04:09 PM
bpalmeirim bpalmeirim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: lisbon
Posts: 29
Default Woops: I mean IMPORTING AUDIO From LOGIC!"

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've started -like many, i suppose- to use logic for midi and PT for audio. I record the midi in Logic as .wav to open in PT.
But i'm having a HORRIBLE time trying to align the audio into the grid. i don't get it. i must have to reconfigure some settings somewhere. each program reads in different bar/beat scales: Logic = 1 1 1 1 at beginning and PT = 1 1 000. are they different time scales?

worse: say bar 2, beat 1 in Logic. SMPTE reads 01 secs .286. i get quite a different reading in the PT SMPTE. why? even the samples are different?

HOW IS IT THAT YOU GUYS IMPORT AUDIO FROM LOGIC TO PT IN A FAST, ACCURATE MANNER?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-21-2002, 08:49 AM
scardanelli scardanelli is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 324
Default Re: Woops: I mean IMPORTING AUDIO From LOGIC!"

Firstly, I'd question why you burn to .wav in Logic in the first place. Why not export your midi file from Logic once you're happy with the arrangement, then run the midi from PT?

OK, so you're using Plug-in instruments, then you're stuck with creating audio files to import. So, as long as you've set the TEMPO in PT to the same value as in Logic, any files created in Logic and placed at the same bar in PT will be accurate enough.

1/ Create your bounced audio file in Logic in the normal way, making sure that it begins at an exact bar start.
2/ Save it as "blah blah BarX" where X = the bar number. This will make it easy to import lots of audio files. There is no need to create huge files if a midi part only plays 8 bars three times in the song for example.
3/ Import into PT, making sure that a/ The tempo is the same. b/ The sample rate is the same. and maybe c/ The frame rate is the same (not sure about this but it certainly couldn't hurt).

I have ported over many many songs from Cubase VST to both Logic and PT in this way, and never had a problem.

Hope this helps

Simon
__________________
Musica Scardanelli - Extraordinary Contemporary Music
www.scardanelli.com
www.resonator-records.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-21-2002, 08:52 AM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: Woops: I mean IMPORTING AUDIO From LOGIC!"

Hi,
If I'm reading you right, you want to finish the project in Logic. Assuming I've got this right, then record a few 'clicks' at the beginnign of the audio track (you can do this when bouncing the audio out of Pro Tools, and then use these click for alignment in Logic.

Cheers,
Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing Audio "Destination Folder" issue PT9... Pony Slaystation 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-10-2011 05:28 PM
Just moved from Logic Pro - Getting "DAE can't get audio from the drive...." error :( teknosmoker macOS 14 09-02-2011 03:13 PM
PTle8 vs Logic "Elastic Audio" nozzles 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 11-16-2009 05:16 AM
IMPORTING AUDIO TO LOGIC! bpalmeirim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-20-2002 03:52 PM
Logic Audio "Error -6002" during Playback deltacon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-19-2001 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com