Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-15-2001, 07:09 AM
unclemurray unclemurray is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 447
Default Powered Plug Ins

Why can't we get them, Digi? Why can't we take some of the burden off our processors with an inexpensive (compared to a mix systtem) DSP card such as the Powercore or the UA card?
__________________
=============================
Doug
Studio 1011
http://www.1011productions.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-15-2001, 10:39 AM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Powered Plug Ins

A mid-priced system between 001 and Mix cubed would not be a bad idea.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2001, 08:43 PM
dpasch dpasch is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 43
Default Re: Powered Plug Ins

Korg Oasys PCI!
The powered solution for the 001.
Just got one and WOW!
No more limits.
The reverb blows away The plugins I have All Waves, Z-room and the dreadful D-verb.

David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2001, 09:50 PM
postaldog postaldog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 29
Default Re: Powered Plug Ins

Will these work with Audiomedia III cards?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-31-2001, 02:55 AM
Chompers Chompers is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Springfield
Posts: 1,860
Default Re: Powered Plug Ins

Ok, Im a little confused here. What is the magic with the Korg oasys card. If we're talking Reverb,,, then isnt it just a one trick pony? One reverb send and your done?
What the difference between that and using an outboard FX rack( w/ Spdif), and saving the CPU for Pro tools?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-31-2001, 06:53 PM
Carl Z Carl Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 656
Default Re: Powered Plug Ins

To me, it doesn't make sense for any manufacturer at this point to make a powered plug-in card. In 18 months it will be a non issue.

For $750 you could build an Athlon XP pc that will cover about all you need. Thats you mid priced system.

Carl
__________________
"I'm one of the few people I know who knows the few people I know" - CL
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
m-powered plug-ins? gumby1220 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 5 10-09-2009 04:23 PM
UAD-1 Powered Plug-Ins Allen Hallada 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 21 09-09-2008 11:36 PM
Plug Ins M Powered 7.1 shultzee13 Virtual Instruments 3 11-26-2007 08:06 PM
002 as powered plug-in? Duardo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 11-09-2002 12:51 AM
powered plug ins tonebeats 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 10-23-2001 11:53 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com