Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Live Sound > VENUE Live Sound Systems

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2018, 01:26 PM
hoosierdraft hoosierdraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: US
Posts: 5
Default Routing an Aux to an Input fader

New to the Digi world and new to a D-Show Profile. All 8 groups are in use, so I'm left looking at Auxes. Can I route an Aux to an Input Fader? I want to take 6 drum inputs, route them to an Aux, insert to a Compressor and then back to an Input channel. Looked through the manual and did a search across the forum to no avail. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2018, 02:06 PM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 261
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosierdraft View Post
New to the Digi world and new to a D-Show Profile. All 8 groups are in use, so I'm left looking at Auxes. Can I route an Aux to an Input Fader? I want to take 6 drum inputs, route them to an Aux, insert to a Compressor and then back to an Input channel. Looked through the manual and did a search across the forum to no avail. Thanks.
Use some low-delay plug-in which would have Aux as an input and Input as an output. Then bypass that plug-in to make it no-op (note that delay will still be added).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2018, 05:03 PM
hoosierdraft hoosierdraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: US
Posts: 5
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

Excellent Valentyn. Exactly what I was looking for! Will try it out tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2018, 02:49 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 261
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valentyn View Post
Use some low-delay plug-in which would have Aux as an input and Input as an output. Then bypass that plug-in to make it no-op (note that delay will still be added).
Sorry, for not being clear: when writing "low-delay" I meant low latency.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-01-2018, 06:54 AM
Karel Noon Karel Noon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gelsenkirchen, Germany
Posts: 248
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

Wich Plugin is the one with the lowest latency?
I always use „Trim“ for routing tasks like this one, but there might be a better option, without having to test them all by myself
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-01-2018, 08:29 AM
emluper emluper is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 471
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

You could always use the Old School method of using the direct out on the Aux to an AES output, then use a patch cable to loop it into an AES input assigned to a channel input. This way you don't lose a plug-in slot. I do this all the time when running monitors. Use it for Drum, Horns, and BGV subs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-2018, 04:10 PM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 281
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

The latency of the plugin doesn’t matter really because you can disable the plugin, and the routing still works, that way you’re not adding hdx routing Latency or plugin latency, not using any DSP.
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-02-2018, 04:20 AM
Valentyn Valentyn is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Earth
Posts: 261
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanJ View Post
The latency of the plugin doesn’t matter really because you can disable the plugin, and the routing still works, that way you’re not adding hdx routing Latency or plugin latency, not using any DSP.
Oh yeah, I forgot about disabling.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-02-2018, 09:19 AM
hoosierdraft hoosierdraft is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: US
Posts: 5
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

Thanks all for help on the routing. Works like a champ.

Followup question. I am routing Kick, Snare, Rack Tom and Floor Tom to an input fader being fed by the plug-in that is fed by the Aux. I want to compress the signal at a 10:1-12:1 ratio. Should I use a compressor as a plug-in or use the input channel compressor? Pros and cons either way.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-03-2018, 10:01 AM
RyanJ's Avatar
RyanJ RyanJ is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 281
Default Re: Routing an Aux to an Input fader

You can do either, it's really about the sound at that point... there's nothing that the onboard comp is missing feature-wise, and the channel can be automated similar to automating a plugin. On-Board is lower latency, plug-in is slightly more... So really, just pick whatever you want in terms of sound.
__________________
Ryan John
Principal Product Manager | Avid Live Sound

ryan.john@avid.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-Fader-Send and Pre-Plug-In routing briancares Tips & Tricks 2 12-22-2015 08:41 PM
Routing send fader to PC Dopamine ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 2 10-15-2009 03:44 PM
Routing around the Master Fader 2hip2b4real 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 01-05-2008 11:25 AM
Routing input 5 from 002 to input 1 Amplitube Live stoogee 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 7 08-27-2004 12:56 AM
Routing output of master fader MPB 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-14-2003 12:44 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com