Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2014, 11:57 AM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,043
Default Avid Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Manager!

I know this has been ask for a thousand times or more but can you guys not forget it's there? In your forward thinking of the next and greatest thing can you improve the Avid Core Audio Manager to play nicely with other apps? Please keep this guy moving forward!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22

Last edited by zion; 12-31-2014 at 09:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2014, 01:33 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

You really should not have any other programs running when Pro Tools is running...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2014, 02:31 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,043
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
You really should not have any other programs running when Pro Tools is running...
I don't! The Avid Core audio driver is used when I'm not using Pro Tools. It is used with other audio apps like iTunes, DSP Quattro, Toast Titanium ect. But I'm sure you new that Bill! It is also used with some standalone apps.
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22

Last edited by zion; 12-31-2014 at 11:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-30-2014, 02:44 PM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zion View Post
I don't! The Avid Core audio driver is used when I'm not using Pro Tools. It is used with other audio apps like iTunes, DSP Quattro, Toast Titanium ect. But I'm sure you new that Bill! It is also used with some standalone VSTi's.
Don't get confused by Bill's comments. Put simply, he has the ability, in spades, to talk confidently on subjects about which he knows little, or nothing.

He, by his own admission in other threads, doesn't use and knows nothing about mac computers, and, by implication, about using Avid hardware or Avid software on mac computers.

Our best attempts to persuade him to 'zip it' in such situations seems doomed to failure, based on our experience to date. Still, we live in hope ;-)
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-30-2014, 02:45 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,043
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
Don't get confused by Bill's comments. Put simply, he has the ability, in spades, to talk confidently on subjects about which he knows little, or nothing.

He, by his own admission in other threads, doesn't use and knows nothing about mac computers, and, by implication, about using Avid hardware or Avid software on mac computers.

Our best attempts to persuade him to 'zip it' in such situations seems doomed to failure, based on our experience to date. Still, we live in hope ;-)
LOL!
__________________
Pro Tools 2019.6 | Studio One 4.5 Pro | Pro Tools 12.5.2 HD | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.3 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | AKAI Pro Adv 61 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-30-2014, 05:15 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 614
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelpry View Post
Don't get confused by Bill's comments. Put simply, he has the ability, in spades, to talk confidently on subjects about which he knows little, or nothing.

He, by his own admission in other threads, doesn't use and knows nothing about mac computers, and, by implication, about using Avid hardware or Avid software on mac computers.

Our best attempts to persuade him to 'zip it' in such situations seems doomed to failure, based on our experience to date. Still, we live in hope ;-)
Ok, this makes sense now. He must be running 98SE too. I just love the nugget about not running other programs while ProTools is running. Especially when talking about the CoreAudio driver, which is for using Avid/Digi hardware with other software.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-30-2014, 05:36 PM
Michael Zull Michael Zull is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 249
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CygnusX-1Bk2 View Post
I just love the nugget about not running other programs while ProTools is running. Especially when talking about the CoreAudio driver, which is for using Avid/Digi hardware with other software.
Indeed, pure comedy gold.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2014, 06:07 PM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Quote:
Originally Posted by zion View Post
I don't! The Avid Core audio driver is used when I'm not using Pro Tools. It is used with other audio apps like iTunes, DSP Quattro, Toast Titanium ect. But I'm sure you new that Bill! It is also used with some standalone VSTi's.
No, did not know that.

Thank you for providing the information...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2014, 06:21 PM
audiobob's Avatar
audiobob audiobob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Houston
Posts: 917
Default Re: Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
No, did not know that.
Bill, seems you've lost your way again. Here you go...

http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-30-2014, 08:02 PM
Park Seward's Avatar
Park Seward Park Seward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 4,284
Default Re: Avid Please Improve The Avid Core Audio Driver!

Back in the old days when computers were not very powerful, it was common to use only one program, like Final Cut Pro, when digitizing video. It would be foolish to run another program, no matter how simple, while digitizing. This was the day of 9 MB drives. Notice I said MB and not GB.

I still to this day close other programs when digitizing. While is may be unnecessary today, I don't want to start the digitizing over if I get a dropped frame.

While using my MacPro to run PT, I have an older laptop to do Mail, Excel and a web browser. Makes me feel safe even though it may be totally unnecessary.
__________________
Park
The Transfer Lab at Video Park
Analog tape to Pro Tools transfers, 1/4"-2"
http://www.videopark.com
MacPro 6 core 3.33 GHz, OS 10.12.1, 8 GB RAM, PT12.6.1, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40, PreSonus DigiMax, MC Control V3.5, dual displays,
Neumann U-47, Tab V76 mic pre, RCA 44BX and 77DX, MacBook Pro 9,1, 2.3 Mhz, i7, CBS Labs Audimax and Volumax.
Ampex 440B half-track and four-track, 351 tube full-track mono, MM-1100 16-track.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core Audio Driver GreaserJesus 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-04-2006 01:32 PM
'001 & WHAT CORE AUDIO DRIVER? skippy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-23-2005 10:50 AM
CORE AUDIO DRIVER Spring Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 09-04-2003 08:49 AM
Bug in Digi Core Audio Driver? Driver update coming? mgbasinski 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2003 08:59 PM
Will the core audio driver enable audio units ? linpaws 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 03-16-2003 02:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com