Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-08-2013, 07:39 AM
madmoosestore madmoosestore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Estes Park, CO, USA
Posts: 1
Default Activating Old Versions of Sound Designer & Pro Tools

I have an old Quadra 650 running OS 8.1 that has an old version of Sound Designer (2.8) and Pro Tools (3.2) on it that I haven't used in years. I went to fire it up the other day, and each application asked me to insert the install disk to authorize. Well, those disks have long since been lost.

Does anyone know of any way to activate these old versions without the original disks?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-08-2013, 09:34 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,333
Default Re: Activating Old Versions of Sound Designer & Pro Tools

Nope, you need the floppy authorizer. The authorization is either kept on the floppy, which means the floppy needs to be inserted every time you launch the program, or you can copy the authorization from the floppy to the hard drive. However if you do that and the hard drive gets reformatted, or it fails, you're screwed. If you re-formatted the drive without moving your auth back on to the floppy first, your auth is gone forever. Same goes if you try and copy the floppy.

People always complain about having to buy an ilok, I never understand why when you compare it to the potential problems that this old method had.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2013, 11:36 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,623
Post Re: Activating Old Versions of Sound Designer & Pro Tools

True, you need the floppy diskette that either has the authorization, or was used to authorize the computer.

And to clarify... if you formatted an authorized drive you could actually use the floppy to re-authorize that drive (the floppy knows which drive it authorized). I tested/confirmed this myself back in the day.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2013, 12:42 PM
wirefall wirefall is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Münster
Posts: 37
Default Re: Activating Old Versions of Sound Designer & Pro Tools

Send me PM off list, I could help you in getting these old software jewels back to life.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Text and Unix Executable Files to Sound Designer to WAV in Pro Tools 8?? sophiea 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 12-21-2011 12:12 PM
How do you get pro tools Le 8 to show/work with sound designer II audio files Quest 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-20-2011 06:27 AM
Sound Designer II on OS 9.1 and Pro Tools Mix. Bobbywhite Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 07-29-2010 09:02 AM
Sound Designer versions... DJTempo Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 01-10-2010 12:08 PM
Sound Designer II & Sound Designer Universal Grigory Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 04-28-2005 03:18 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com