Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2009, 11:59 AM
Anibal Anibal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: L.A. CA. USA
Posts: 545
Default question for 25ghosts

hey ghosty,
since you are always ahead and adventurous...
I am way overdue with upgrading my machine and of course my dilemma is (the old cliche..) should I wait for digi to approve the new mac pro, jump into it or buy the good old 8 core
I am very curious about how you feel about this issue

__________________
PT 2018 HDX 1
Mac Pro Westmere 12 core 3.46 OSX 10.12.5
64 gig ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-09-2009, 12:45 PM
c-tone c-tone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

Maybe we can make this the "25 Questions with 25 Ghosts" thread! Here is #2:

Dear 25 Ghosts,

How is Altiverb working for you under PT8? Are you using the TDM or RTAS version?

Thanks,
Cautious and Curious in California
__________________
www.clifnorrell.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-09-2009, 02:16 PM
DrFord's Avatar
DrFord DrFord is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 873
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

#3:
25 ghosts, please describe your dream date.
__________________
DRFord
Homepage | Facebook | YouTube
Mac OSX 10.12.6 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 12core 3.46ghz
Avid HD Native PCIe Core | Pro Tools HD 2018.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-2009, 03:49 PM
toneski toneski is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 93
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

Dear 25 Ghosts,

Is that you singing on the start up page on the 25ghosts website?
__________________
Regards
Tony

Hackintosh Quadcore i7 3.4GHZ; OS X 10.8.4; HD4 PT version 10.3.8
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-09-2009, 03:52 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,331
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

5. 25Ghosts - If we get to 25 questions on this thread, will you answer them all?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-09-2009, 04:59 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anibal View Post
hey ghosty,
since you are always ahead and adventurous...
I am way overdue with upgrading my machine and of course my dilemma is (the old cliche..) should I wait for digi to approve the new mac pro, jump into it or buy the good old 8 core
I am very curious about how you feel about this issue

Hi,

If I were to run PT HD with TDM and RTAS FX and be saving on the VIs - I would get a price-reduced 8 Core Harpertown, (The one prior to the new ones of today.) with 2.8HGZ and about 10GB of RAM. The harpertown is great and compatible. Personally I am a little reluctant getting the new ones, as I believe that the MacPro will receive yet another Processor upgrade this year. So my choice would be the harpertown.

And they should be plenty cheap now that the new ones have arrived.
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-09-2009, 05:00 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

Quote:
Originally Posted by c-tone View Post
Maybe we can make this the "25 Questions with 25 Ghosts" thread! Here is #2:

Dear 25 Ghosts,

How is Altiverb working for you under PT8? Are you using the TDM or RTAS version?

Thanks,
Cautious and Curious in California
AV 6.3.1 is very stable with my system. I never bother to use the TDM version. RTAS is fine
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-09-2009, 05:06 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post
5. 25Ghosts - If we get to 25 questions on this thread, will you answer them all?
Of Course

But then digi would have to take away the posts limit. I dont wanna wait 30 seconds between each answer
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-09-2009, 05:39 PM
Studio Studio Studio Studio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 342
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

TDM works fine too!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2009, 05:51 PM
25ghosts 25ghosts is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Posts: 3,333
Default Re: question for 25ghosts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Studio Studio View Post
TDM works fine too!
depends on how many TDM chips you wanna "waste" for holding an audio impulse response
__________________
2016 MacBook Pro Retina | 16GB RAM | 1TB SSD | OS X Latest - PTHD 12 Latest | 4K LG Thunderbolt Display | Logic Pro 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fruity loops in pro tools question...not regular rewire question nutrinoland 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 04-23-2010 12:39 PM
quick question - Mbox Mini question - i forget JRup 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 10-18-2009 02:55 PM
Another optical expansion question question for boffins Che_Guitarra 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-23-2008 11:21 PM
General Venue Automation Question - (Maybe dumb question) TwoPort VENUE Live Sound Systems 5 12-21-2007 02:41 PM
25ghosts,.......!!!! bullyboy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 02-08-2006 06:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com