Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:14 PM
djcream djcream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 116
Default Need Help With Loop Playback/Cursor Problem

Hi All,

Suddenly I'm having a problem getting loop playback to work (it was working yesterday). Here's what's happening:

-When I highlight a section in a playlist & check loop playback, it plays from the beginning of the track right through the selection & just keeps on going.

-Playback starts from the beginning of the track no matter where I place the cursor.

-The Transport reads 1/1/00 no matter where I place the cursor. (I have to type in a starting point if I want to start playback from anywhere other than 1/1/00.)

-When I select a section to loop, or place my cursor anywhere, it does show the info in the Event part of the Edit window (the start/end/length), but does not show in the Transport window .

Does anyone know how to fix this? Or what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks!


dj

Mbox 2 Pro w/ LE 7.3.1
__________________
PT LE 7.4.2/Mac Pro 2.8 Ghz 8 Core/10Gb RAM/OS X 10.5.8/Mbox 2 Pro/MIDISport 4x4/Roland XP-50/Yamaha P-140
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:34 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Need Help With Loop Playback/Cursor Problem

Is Link Timeline and Edit Selection enabled, dj?








filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:41 PM
djcream djcream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 116
Default Re: Need Help With Loop Playback/Cursor Problem

Aha! No, it wasn't. Working fine now that it is. Thanks filosofem!
__________________
PT LE 7.4.2/Mac Pro 2.8 Ghz 8 Core/10Gb RAM/OS X 10.5.8/Mbox 2 Pro/MIDISport 4x4/Roland XP-50/Yamaha P-140
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-14-2007, 11:48 PM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Need Help With Loop Playback/Cursor Problem

dj, I see your running version 7.3, have you tried 'Dynamic Transport'.

Check out these videos if you haven't already. Pro Tools Accelerated Videos - Pro Tools 7.3 - Dynamic Transport










filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-15-2007, 12:18 AM
filosofem filosofem is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Christchurch NZ
Posts: 11,864
Default Re: Need Help With Loop Playback/Cursor Problem

One more thing, dj, if you can afford it, I highly recommend you invest in the printed Pro Tools 7.3 Reference Guide.

You'll find that the ability to read this anywhere, only acts as a catalyst to your Pro Tools learning!









filosofem
__________________
Aaron Mulqueen - 001 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2007, 02:00 AM
djcream djcream is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 116
Default Re: Need Help With Loop Playback/Cursor Problem

Yep. Those Accelerated Videos are the bomb. Make my head spin just a little bit, but lots of fun. I'll check out Dynamic Transport asap since you recommend it.

I'm reading Pro Tools For Musicians & Songwriters right now - after that I'll have a better grip on PT so I think it will be easier for me to dig in to the reference guide (as you know - I need to ) . Great suggestion getting a printed one.

Big huge thanks for your support filosofem! Hope all's well down there...

dj
__________________
PT LE 7.4.2/Mac Pro 2.8 Ghz 8 Core/10Gb RAM/OS X 10.5.8/Mbox 2 Pro/MIDISport 4x4/Roland XP-50/Yamaha P-140
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-21-2007, 05:11 PM
adammeadows adammeadows is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1
Default Need Help With Timeline Insertion Playback/Cursor Problem

hello all-

so suddenly, last week the "timeline insertion follows play back " thing stopped working on all my pro toll le 7.3 files. (i have a mac i book G4)

the button is definitely clicked in the "preferences" section and also the "link timeline and edit selection" thing is definitely clicked in options, but still no luck.

when you press "play" then "stop" it just starts up after where you stopped.

total bummer.

every book & message board says if i just do the "timeline insertion follows play back " thing and the "link timeline and edit selection" thing, it should work, but it doesn't.

i've tried uninstalling and re-installing pro tools and downloading demo files that should have that enabled and saving them as templates. neither thing worked.

any ideas?

making me nuts.

-adam
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Placing start cursor without creating a loop? gopher Getting Started 12 03-05-2014 06:59 AM
weird Loop Playback/Groove Problem perfectdrug6 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 09-20-2011 09:39 PM
Loop playback Problem xxicjoy Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 04-14-2011 03:33 AM
Loop Record and Loop Playback will not engage? Angelo of Onello 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-28-2008 06:03 PM
Playback Cursor Problem...! KingAce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 04-29-2007 09:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com