Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 10-02-1999, 07:12 AM
noisefloor noisefloor is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Posts: 202
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

"What features do AMIII PT 4.3.2 have now
that they will not have with PT 5.0 LE?"

"Could you please explain the "lacking Features"?"

You know what, I've been asking digi that exact question, and have yet to receive an answer. We know it's missing timecode features. You tell US. What are the differences between PT5 and PTLE?

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-1999, 08:32 AM
AMG AMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 245
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

noisefloor,

The PT5LE I saw at AES does not have some of the advanced editing functions of PT5 - like non-consecutive region selection (a rather odd omission), or the keyboard shortcuts. And, as has already been pointed out, no TC timeline. I didn't check if there is a SMPTE setup window for pull-down or frame rate or session start, although since there is no TC timeline there is little use for them.

To answer Mj, PT5LE lacks the most fundamental aspect of audio post-production work (TC timeline) and therefore I view it as strictly an upgrade for music professionals. It is not being touted as an upgrade for post professionals using AMIII cards or Powerbook/Powermix combos so I am not considering it as such. However, as there is no indication of a PT5LE-post version or product direction in this regard, and since the post specific items that have been removed from LE are not due to technical considerations but marketing issues, it is only natural that the user base will exhibit frustration and confusion. And Digidesign's own marketing has touted the AMIII as a excellent complement to a PT-TDM system for us post users - the Star Wars articles notwithstanding.

As one of the stated goals of PT5 was cross-platform consistancy, and Powermix was, I believe, a Mac exclusive item, perhaps this was key to driving the decision to drop it. But perhaps in the future there may be a different Powermix that is cross-platform. We can always hope.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10-02-1999, 03:35 PM
Kevan Staples Kevan Staples is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Toronto Canadada
Posts: 381
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

"Could you please explain the "lacking Features"?"

For us it is TIMECODE. We use multiple AMIII systems for editing and compile all the elements with two Protools d24 systems. Without timecode all our AMIII systems are useless. Of course we will keep using them with PT 4.3.2 but it does seem almost "un-ethical" to be clipping us for investing in multiple systems.

Kevan
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10-02-1999, 06:20 PM
Will Russell's Avatar
Will Russell Will Russell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newfield, NY (Ithaca)
Posts: 955
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

from the General info section:
"PT LE will do 24-bit files. It will not run on the Power Book in the first release but look for some info on that front in not too distant future.
-Mike Rockwell"
__________________
Will Russell
Electric Wilburland Studio
www.wilburland.com
12 core 3.06Ghz MacPro, OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, HDX, D-Command
Retina 5k iMac OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6, MBox3
Retina MacBook Pro OS 10.14.5, PT2019.6
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10-02-1999, 09:24 PM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

Where did you hear this about the time code? I was a AES and saw PTLE, and one of my concerns was hiding the Multiple Timebase and Conductor Rulers. Time Code, Bar|Beats, Feet+Frames, Hours/Minutes/Seconds, Samples all seem to be there. I didn't look to see if there was a pull down menu for frame rates, so you got me a little worried.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 10-03-1999, 10:50 AM
angelo panetta angelo panetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: elmwood pk nj 07407
Posts: 207
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

Can the 001 with PT LE sync to time code with the Digi USD or SSD?

DigiTech2 worte:

Pro Tools LE sends and receives MTC and MMC. If you want the hardware to be resolved you'll have to use a third party interface such as a Digital Time Piece which provides continuos sync for S/PDIF devices.


Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 10-05-1999, 04:17 AM
matt connolly matt connolly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Posts: 163
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

How about Digidesign makes a USB version of the AM3 interface. A little box with stereo in and out in BOTH analog and digital, and a USB port which will allow iMac/PowerBook/iBook users to use PT 5 LE. (Free dongle-no disk required). USB is cross platform. The customers will still be commited to buying hardware made by digi, and we have a working solution.

Technically, you can't do much routing with only 2in/2out, so the latencies of the USB architecture will cause no problems. None for me anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 10-06-1999, 01:28 PM
martyn martyn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 13
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

Will powermix users, that don't have an AM3 card have a resonable upgrade to 001 or Toolbox? Or will they be stuck at 4.31?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 10-06-1999, 07:06 PM
AMG AMG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 245
Default Re: powermix R.I.P?

Will,

I asked a Digi rep at AES demoing PT5 for post about using PT5 with Digigram card or some other solution for Powerbooks. He noted that there is no support for Sound Manager (ie via Powermix), or third party hardware (ie the Digigram VXpocket that works via Sound Manager). Upon pressing him about these seeming limitations with PT5 software, he offered that Digi is looking at a PCCard solution that they are considering OEMing with a possible announcement sometime around NAB. It wasn't clear if this was a Digi designed (no pun intended) item or a third party item that Digi will put their name on.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powermix 5.x ? Bryan Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 08-23-2000 12:11 AM
Mac OS9 w/PT4.3.1 Powermix? trakbytes Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 05-19-2000 09:30 AM
Powermix four3 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-20-2000 11:07 AM
G4?450 W/ Powermix? 606 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-17-1999 02:42 PM
PowerMix for NT? dhodgson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 1 02-01-1999 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com