Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-20-2004, 02:58 PM
Ken D. Ken D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default A/B -ing

Since I didn't have much luck with this question in the tips and techniques section, I thought someone here might be able to help.

Does anyone have a good suggestion on how to A/B in Pro Tools? I'm sure it's very simple and I'm just missing it, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2004, 04:00 PM
seriously seriously is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default Re: A/B -ing

A/B it too what?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2004, 04:40 PM
Ken D. Ken D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: A/B -ing

A/B two tracks or two playlists. i.e. I'm trying to compare two sounds within the exact same time frame. Does that make sense?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2004, 06:06 PM
Digitrove Digitrove is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 73
Default Re: A/B -ing

Two playlists: just pull each one down and listen.
Two tracks: mute and solo are wonderful buttons.
__________________
"Learn how to handle hot things, keep your knives sharp, and above all, have fun."
-Julia Child, as paraphrased by Tom Robbins
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-20-2004, 08:05 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,850
Default Re: A/B -ing

In the Prefs, you can latch solos. That is the best way to A/B. You hit solo on one track, then when you want to listen to the other track, just hit that solo.
Peace,
Brandon
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-20-2004, 08:50 PM
Ken D. Ken D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: A/B -ing

Thanks Brandon. I did try that but it still seems to require that I unclick the solo button on track one before clicking the solo on track two. I've set the prefs to latch solos. Does yours do this too? Or am I doing something wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-21-2004, 07:48 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,850
Default Re: A/B -ing

Hi,
I'm not in front of the rig right now, but try it the other way. I know it at least works on a 5.1.1 system. Hope this helps.
Peace,
Brandon
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-22-2004, 09:33 AM
Charles D. Ballard Charles D. Ballard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 632
Default Re: A/B -ing

I think you actually want to unlatch the solos (in other words, uncheck the "latch Solo Buttons" option.)

I wish you could do this with a simple key command like with using "n" to toggle the "Timeline Insertion Follows Playback" option. Maybe there is and I've just not discovered it yet.
__________________
-Charles D. Ballard, M.P.S.E.

"I bent my wookie"
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-30-2004, 02:19 PM
Ken D. Ken D. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 13
Default Re: A/B -ing

Thanks Charles. I feel like a complete idiot for not figuring this out sooner. But it works great. Thanks again,

Ken
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com