Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2019, 09:34 AM
midnightrambler midnightrambler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,271
Default MIDI playback producing sonic "blasts" - dangerous behaviour?

So the MIDI engine has this habit of stopping while the audio carries on playing, and then all notes come back on with a thundering BANG, scaring the life out of me and anyone else in the room. It can do it when you insert plug-ins, or rename audio, and probably quite a few other operations.

So I've tried creating a reproducible recipe and would be grateful if someone would see if this also happens on their system.

*WARNING : turn monitoring down low!*

1. New audio track. Create new audio of e.g. 32 bars (I used "signal generator"), then use "separate clip on grid" (grid set to 1 bar) to create 32 audio clips.

2. Create 2 instrument tracks with Boom on it. I had one playing kick, one playing snare, 4 beats per bar, for 32 bars.

3. Duplicate these 2 tracks say 4 times? (Not quite sure the best number here, the idea is to put a bit of stress on the MIDI engine)

4. Hit play and then press shift-cmd-r to start renaming the audio clips. At some point during the proceedings all the MIDI instruments will stop playing, and will not resume until you've finished renaming the tracks. On my system it will usually (but not every time) also cause the MIDI instruments to crash back in at a super loud level.

I would argue that is quite dangerous behaviour, especially if you're monitoring quite loud anyway.


Here's a video of what I did to create the blast: https://youtu.be/BwZOLUD3OFg


Note it took a couple of goes to get it to happen, so it's not completely consistent. Also sometimes the MIDI comes back in fine but is running out of sync.

I know it's not a real world example, but I often run triggers and this sort of bish-bash-bosh happens quite a lot, causing no end of swearing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-17-2019, 10:50 AM
FunkzzaJ FunkzzaJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 30
Default Re: MIDI playback producing sonic "blasts" - dangerous behaviour?

Midnight !

I experienced something similar. Believe it was OneDrive synching in the background. Stopped/unlinked it and things were fine. Not sure on OneDrive, cuz I did a lot of windowsy stuff at the time. Im on windows 10. My vid on the strange behaviour:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Nok...ew?usp=sharing

/T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Digidesign Midi I/О" in "ProTools 10HD" in "OSX Maverics" electra1006 MIDI 0 06-18-2018 05:46 AM
Keyboard Shortcut for "Track List", "MIDI Editor Pane", and "Clip List" EdgarRothermich Pro Tools 12 2 10-04-2017 02:18 PM
Consolidate vs Duplicate - "Stereo" vs. Dual Mono Behaviour rnd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 06-05-2013 01:03 AM
"Save Copy In" producing session without audio holden Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-16-2008 05:44 AM
Strange Behaviour "Unable to create DAE Deck" Mac OS 9.2.2 Targon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 01-24-2002 12:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:10 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com