Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2014, 08:47 AM
musicmixer04 musicmixer04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oslo
Posts: 267
Default "dynamic plugin processing" Issues PT 11.2.1

Just watched the video about dynamic plugin processing, and figured that it dont work the same at all in my system.

I have a clean install of pro tools 11.2.1 on my macbook pro late 2013 retina. 10.9.4

Running HD Native with Avid I/O 16*16

Im constantly having issues with cpu overload with few plugins, described in many treads on this board

Here is what I discovered compared to the avid video:

In my system, the 4th core is very high in cpu usage while the other cores nearly have any cpu usage at all. It dont look like the dynamic plugin processing described in the avid video work at all.

Dont know what to do to have the cores take equal cpu load. any preferences in PT I should check out?

Anyone have same issue?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2014, 12:56 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: "dynamic plugin processing" Issues PT 11.2.1

Which plug-ins were you using for your benchmark testing?

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2014, 04:11 PM
musicmixer04 musicmixer04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oslo
Posts: 267
Default Re: "dynamic plugin processing" Issues PT 11.2.1

It looks like this in every session. I do use several VI on instrument tracks.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2014, 04:25 PM
Emcha_audio's Avatar
Emcha_audio Emcha_audio is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Montréal, canada
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: "dynamic plugin processing" Issues PT 11.2.1

Empty your plugin folder except for the basic avid and air plugins that were installed from the fresh install. (which means no Hybrid and the likes from Air) and then test again, if it's working properly continue adding one plugin at a time until you find which one is being wonkers.

At the same time are you on a mac or on a PC? if a PC please post a sandra report.
__________________
Manny.

#BOYCOTTTUSPRODUCTS

just not Pro tools and compatible plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2014, 04:44 PM
Shan's Avatar
Shan Shan is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 13,547
Default Re: "dynamic plugin processing" Issues PT 11.2.1

Also keep in mind that dynamic plug-in processing doesn't apply to instrument tracks with VI's.

Shane
__________________
Pro Tools Power User Editing

Give your plug-ins a facelift...and skin 'em!
__________________

"Music should be performed by the musician, not by the engineer."

Michael Wagener 25th July 2005, 02:59 PM

__________________

Pro Tools|HD Native 9.0.1 | Pro Tools|HDX 10.2 | Studio One | REAPER 4.22 | HD OMNI | HoboMac Pro 2.26Ghz Quad-Core | W7 Ultimate 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-13-2014, 04:45 PM
Shifted Music's Avatar
Shifted Music Shifted Music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 1,010
Default Re: "dynamic plugin processing" Issues PT 11.2.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emcha_audio View Post
Empty your plugin folder except for the basic avid and air plugins that were installed from the fresh install. (which means no Hybrid and the likes from Air) and then test again, if it's working properly continue adding one plugin at a time until you find which one is being wonkers.

At the same time are you on a mac or on a PC? if a PC please post a sandra report.
Im told this somehow normal behavior. I have this Middle core syndrom on mine... but on my 12 core its the 12th that shows the most usage. my system usage meter shows 24 available cores.

I don't think removing plug ins or anything will help this..

at least not on a mac. Happens to me with just stock avid
__________________
Jay-J

System
MacPro 12 Core • 24 G Ram • 10.12.6
PT 12.8.1 • Mbox 3 Pro • Plug-ins Verified
4 HD • OS ssd | Audio ssd | Sample Library ssd | Storage
MAXPower eSATA 6G Card • Wiebetech RTX100H-Q
Kensington Trackball Works/Orbit Optical
Bluetooth off/Airport on and off.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2014, 06:08 AM
musicmixer04 musicmixer04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oslo
Posts: 267
Default Re: "dynamic plugin processing" Issues PT 11.2.1

ok I see.

Thanks for helping out. if VI`s are not supported by dynamic plugin processing.
That might explain it.

Thanks again, appreciat it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynamic Delay "Pong" help obx777 Eleven Rack 3 03-25-2013 08:57 PM
Does "Westmere" qualification apply to "Bloomfield" and "Gulftown" also? bashville Pro Tools 10 5 03-23-2013 03:04 PM
hardware buttons for "preview", "capture" and "punch" evs Post - Surround - Video 1 12-06-2010 12:28 PM
"audio processing is conflicting with other CPU tasks..." gringito 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 09-09-2002 08:52 AM
Sonovox "voice processing" timelesstracks General Discussion 0 08-21-2002 03:06 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com