Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2017, 03:56 PM
TrentWilliams TrentWilliams is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Posts: 842
Default How to measure loudness for LFE

Hey everyone,

I'm mixing a short for a deaf audience, one of the requirements is to use the LFE to help the deaf audience feel the movie.

But I've run into a problem measuring the loudness of the short.

VisLM doesn't seem to take the LFE channel into consideration. How do I go about measuring this? There's a lot of information going through the sub and I need it to be accurate as possible.

Any help is appreciated
__________________
Pro Tools 2020.3|Ultimate, UAD Apollo 8, UAD Octo+Quad Satellite, UAD Apollo Twin Quad Core, Focusrite 8PreXiMac 27" Late 2013 - 3.5GHz i7 - macOS 10.14.4 • RAM 32GB DDR3, GPU NVidia GTX 780M 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-30-2017, 03:13 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 428
Default Re: How to measure loudness for LFE

think VisLM just ignores sub

cant u send an aux off the LFE send somewhere - ie creating a fake output that u can then set the meter on?

interesting project btw
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-2017, 05:31 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: How to measure loudness for LFE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
VisLM doesn't seem to take the LFE channel into consideration.
No meter does, by definition, if you mean LUFS for loudness.

Quote:
Practical guidelines for Production & Implementation of R 128 Tech 3343-2011v2
Low Frequency Effects (LFE) channel
The Low Frequency Effects channel (the “.1”-channel in “5.1”) of a multichannel audio signal is currently not taken into account for the loudness measurement according to ITU-R BS.1770. This may lead to abuse of the LFE with unnecessary high signal levels. Ongoing investigations try to evaluate the subjective effect the LFE has on the perception of loudness as well as the appropriate
Why do you need to be accurate (out of interest) ?
Maybe take the printed Lfe-Track, cut all silence in shuffle, and measure the RMS, if you need some value.
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2017, 01:45 PM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,231
Default Re: How to measure loudness for LFE

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trent W. View Post
Hey everyone,

I'm mixing a short for a deaf audience, one of the requirements is to use the LFE to help the deaf audience feel the movie.

But I've run into a problem measuring the loudness of the short.

VisLM doesn't seem to take the LFE channel into consideration. How do I go about measuring this? There's a lot of information going through the sub and I need it to be accurate as possible.

Any help is appreciated
Well, you can split the track to mono and measure just the LFE.

But bare in mind that there the weighting curve of whatever measuring algorithm you are using.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2017, 08:55 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 918
Default Re: How to measure loudness for LFE

If it's for broadcast, QC will ignore the measurement of Lfe too.
If it's a cinema release, why do you even need to measure it?
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TAB to measure ??? teacherman Pro Tools 10 2 06-08-2015 09:58 PM
iZotope RX Loudness Control - Automatic Loudness Correction for Broadcast iZotopeInc AAX Plug-ins 0 05-21-2015 10:16 AM
Adding Measure Jel 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 05-22-2012 05:43 AM
CALM Acts Audio Loudness, Average Loudness, Program Loudness levels... help needed qr2r Post - Surround - Video 12 11-10-2011 01:41 AM
Measure latency? Mululu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-21-2005 02:24 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com