Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 07-23-2017, 11:09 PM
mgoorevich's Avatar
mgoorevich mgoorevich is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Tel Aviv - תל אביב
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Well, problems arise again. What's the best program for transcoding? I need to transcode H264 to DNxHD. (Or I guess I could use ProRes, too). I've used Adobe Media Encoder in the past. Is there any other?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The fastest one is iFFMPG
I love it since they fixed their old bugs.
__________________
Michael Goorevich

Sound Designer
/ mixer
www.goorevich.com

PT HD⎪N v2019.10 Ultimate ● macOS High Sierra 10.13.6
MacPro 2 x 2.4 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon ● 24 GB RAM
Avid HD I/O ● Sync HD ● AJA LHi referenced by AJA GEN10 ● D-Command ES24
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-25-2017, 04:31 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,199
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoorevich View Post
The fastest one is iFFMPG
I love it since they fixed their old bugs.
Thanks, but I think that only works on a Mac. I'm on a Win-10 Pro system.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-25-2017, 04:35 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,199
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonny Keyes View Post
Have you tried transcoding the video to something Pro Tools likes, like DNxHD? The first part of this might help:

http://www.jasonmyres.com/transcodin...dia-composer-6)
Will this work on a Windows based system? It looks like this is for Macs.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-25-2017, 06:17 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
Thanks, but I think that only works on a Mac. I'm on a Win-10 Pro system.
https://ffmpeg.zeranoe.com/builds/

and use the command line :
ffmpeg -i "D:\H264.mov" -s 1920x1080 -r 23.976 -vcodec dnxhd -b:v 36M -acodec copy "D:\DNxHD36.mov"


"D:\H264.mov" , the path you get when shift-right-clicking the video file (copy path)
-s 1920x1080 , the pixels of HD
-vcodec dnxhd , video codec is dnxhd
-b:v 36M , bitrate video 36000 kbit/s = DNxHD36
-acodec copy , audio codec copied from original (or use -an for no audio)
"D:\DNxHD36.mov" , the desired name of the transcoded file


Other resolutions :
Project Format Resolution Frame Size Bits FPS
1080i / 59.94 DNxHD 220 1920x1080 8 29.97 220Mb
1080i / 59.94 DNxHD 145 1920x1080 8 29.97 145Mb
1080i / 50 DNxHD 185 1920x1080 8 25 185Mb
1080i / 50 DNxHD 120 1920x1080 8 25 120Mb
1080p / 25 DNxHD 185 1920x1080 8 25 185Mb
1080p / 25 DNxHD 120 1920x1080 8 25 120Mb
1080p / 25 DNxHD 36 1920x1080 8 25 36Mb
1080p / 24 DNxHD 175 1920x1080 8 24 175Mb
1080p / 24 DNxHD 115 1920x1080 8 24 115Mb
1080p / 24 DNxHD 36 1920x1080 8 24 36Mb
1080p / 23.976 DNxHD 175 1920x1080 8 23.976 175Mb
1080p / 23.976 DNxHD 115 1920x1080 8 23.976 115Mb
1080p / 23.976 DNxHD 36 1920x1080 8 23.976 36Mb
1080p / 29.7 DNxHD 45 1920x1080 8 29.97 45Mb
720p / 59.94 DNxHD 220 1280x720 8 59.94 220Mb
720p / 59.94 DNxHD 145 1280x720 8 59.94 145Mb
720p / 50 DNxHD 175 1280x720 8 50 175Mb
720p / 50 DNxHD 115 1280x720 8 50 115Mb
720p / 23.976 DNxHD 90 1280x720 8 23.976 90Mb
720p / 23.976 DNxHD 60 1280x720 8 23.976 60Mb
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-25-2017, 06:18 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,199
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Thank you.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2019.10
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 07-25-2017, 06:37 AM
joachim's Avatar
joachim joachim is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Germany, München
Posts: 1,663
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Code:
ECHO OFF
REM FF Prompt 1.1
REM Open a command prompt to run ffmpeg/ffplay/ffprobe
REM Copyright (C) 2013  Kyle Schwarz

TITLE FF Prompt

IF NOT EXIST bin\ffmpeg.exe (
  CLS
  ECHO bin\ffmpeg.exe could not be found.
  GOTO:error
)

CD bin || GOTO:error
PROMPT $G
CLS
ffmpeg -version
SET PATH=%CD%;%PATH%
ECHO.
ECHO For help run: ffmpeg -h
ECHO For formats run: ffmpeg -formats ^| more
ECHO For codecs run: ffmpeg -codecs ^| more
ECHO.
ECHO Current directory is now: "%CD%"
ECHO The bin directory has been added to PATH
ECHO.

CMD /F:ON /Q /K
If you paste the above text into a notepad (text editor)document and save it as "ff-prompt.bat" and place it in the folder as displayed in the screenshot, you can just double-click it to open the command line.

I usually open another notepad, place the paths, name and instructions there and copy-paste the whole command into the ff-prompt. (Alt+Space, then edit - paste)



The speed of transcoding is approx. 5 times faster then realtime.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screen Shot2.JPG (50.0 KB, 0 views)
__________________
PT 11.3.2 HD , RME Fireface 800 , Genelec 5.1 ,
Win7 64bit Professional , i7 3930 Hexcore , 48GB Ram , SSD System + SSD PT Session/Audio + SSD Video (all Samsung 840 Evo) + Spinner 1TB Data , 2x Radeon HD 5450 \\ SD 633 Femto MKH8060 MKH8070 MKH30/MKH40 DPA4060
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 07-29-2017, 04:50 AM
fork-media fork-media is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: sai kung
Posts: 428
Default Re: Another odd video problem

great thread - I am currently being sent a batch of h2.64

( H.264, 1280 × 720, Millions -AAC, Stereo (L R), 48.000 kHz )

and it totally makes my system laggy.. I usually transcode to DV using stream clip - files are too big for my liking

and it is taking 12- 24 hours.. it is a series of 90 minute episodes

can I use this DNxHD? would it give me better performance?
__________________
i7 quad mac mini - 10.8.5 - 2x 1 TB SSD Focusrite Saffire PRO 40
protools 10.39 ( also 11? ) CPTK/ HD - Digital Performer 7.2 -Avid MC Mix
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 07-29-2017, 05:07 AM
MIKEROPHONICS's Avatar
MIKEROPHONICS MIKEROPHONICS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: TWICKENHAM (South West London) UK
Posts: 2,081
Default Another odd video problem

DV is SD and must be reduced to 720 x 576. DNxHD is HD (1920x1080).
I have never understood why editors kick out 720 HD as it is a bastard love child format size.
If you are displaying on an HD TV then it will prefer 1920x1080 and will be doing no display work to accommodate that, whereas if you make DV then it is SD and must be upscale somewhere to accommodate the TV resolution.
Personally I do this at the transcode stage within my Avid or with mpegsc. DNxHD 36 works a treat. Is is faster? I couldn't tell you - but it makes more sense.
Video is just a large stream of media, the difference in moving DV or DNxHD off drives (SSD in my case) is relatively negligible these days. To give you an example, I used to play SD DVpal and 5 or six stems from a USB2 drive to VO record (Reversioning) and record and mix the final mix and m&e simultaneously back to the same drive. Not bad for USB2! Breaks all the accepted good practice rules, but it never huffed and puffed at all or even hiccuped.
The trick with video is to do as little work as poss - i.e. Transcode to a very native file type that your software and hardware needs to little with. I am lucky my AJA IOXT can
upscale on the fly, but still I avoid even this.
DNxHD is the AVE weapon of choice with HD TVs.
DNxHD 36 8 bit is relatively efficient in file size to visual quality.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
__________________
cheers

Mike Aiton BSc (hons)
Dubbing Mixer/Sound Designer

BAFTA member
IPS member

former Post Production Expert at www.pro-tools-expert.com
-------------------------------------------------------------------
www.mikerophonics.com
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 07-31-2017, 03:03 AM
michaelfbates michaelfbates is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: London, UK
Posts: 41
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by fork-media View Post
I usually transcode to DV using stream clip - files are too big for my liking

and it is taking 12- 24 hours.. it is a series of 90 minute episodes

can I use this DNxHD? would it give me better performance?
So Mike has given a great answer and I hadn't thought about the 720 vs 1080 thing. Thanks for that!

I get the best performance from 1920 x 1080 DNxHD 36 8 bit and have started just asking for that from editors rather than them wasting their time transcoding to H.264. Internet transfer should be fast enough now to negate the file size argument.

One thing I only discovered recently by watching this webinar: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6gxLZid2VR4 is that unless your video file in Pro Tools has the tick next to it, it's not "optimised" and isn't actually being processed by the AVE. Jump to 23:25 to get to that section.

Now thankfully I don't have issues in PT with video (I have always transcoded to DNxHD using MPEG Streamclip) but looking back at a few old projects I noticed that none of the video in them was "optimised".

Bouncing to quicktime within PT and importing that video resulted in an "optimised" video. But, I noticed almost no difference in performance (maybe there was a 1 or 2% change in the CPU usage).
__________________
PT Ultimate 2019.5 | macOS 10.13.6 | Eucon 2019.5 | Mac Pro 5,1 | 3.46 GHz 12-Core
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 07-31-2017, 07:15 AM
antonis's Avatar
antonis antonis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,231
Default Re: Another odd video problem

Thanks Mike! I'm taking this on board as well.
__________________
1. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, HDN, AVID MTRX, Sync HD, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
2. Mac Pro 5.1, 2.66GHz, Twelve Core, Yamaha Dante Accelerator, PTU 2018.10, OS X 10.12.6.
3. D-Command ES, 24-fader.
4. Eleven Rack.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with video GiuliusSpiridion macOS 1 05-02-2012 11:08 AM
Video Problem with Mix+ , Help? peterle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 05-05-2011 04:42 PM
PT 8 LE Video problem 7777 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 10-15-2009 03:15 PM
Video Problem-Please Help MichaelBross 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-19-2007 03:31 PM
problem with video from mac to pc on the 001 audio1420 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-22-2003 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com