Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #121  
Old 03-22-2016, 07:07 PM
zion's Avatar
zion zion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 1,060
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
Yes, you're right, but the Avid core audio was always a problem, I can't remember a stable version in 12 years
Well then it's long over due! Why has this gone on for so long? Is it really that hard to make a stable Core Audio driver? Just get her done Avid!
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate & Vanilla 2019.12 | Studio One 4.6 Pro | Apollo X8 | UAD Octo Sat | UAD Quad Sat | Mac Mini 2018 i7 | 16GB Ram | 512GB SSD | Mojave 10.14.6 | OWC ThunderBay 4 | Drives’s Samsung EVO 860 + 840 + Crucial M4 SSD | Plugins | UAD, Softube, Waves, Nugen, Fabfilter, SSL, Lexicon, Eastwest, NI KOMP 9 ULT, PSP, IKMulti, Antares, Celemony, Slate Dig, etc | Korg Kronos LS 88 | PreSonus Fader Port | Townsend Labs Sphere L22
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 03-22-2016, 07:30 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,699
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

Actually 10.8.5 was working and great....but I upgraded my OS to 10.10 and forgot that it was broke

I upgraded to 10.10 once 10.11 had been out 4/5 months or so, but it didn't matter b/c it as still broke
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 03-23-2016, 05:04 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
Why bother?

I never used the core audio, I always connect the digital output of my computers to a input of the interface and have always Pro tools open. When I need to ear some youtube, Logic, Cubase, Basehead, etc.. I just create a Audio track or Aux and route the input properly.

I do this at least for hmmmmmm 12 years.

But ok...
+1 to resolve this "issue"

Have been doing so since PT 4? ...Cubase 8 and Logic x use all 32 channels without any problem.
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 03-25-2016, 02:16 PM
A1's Avatar
A1 A1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 431
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael c View Post
Is this supposed be in the 12.5 update?
It better be...
__________________
:+:
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 03-25-2016, 02:30 PM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,007
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marco Bernardo View Post
Yes, you're right, but the Avid core audio was always a problem, I can't remember a stable version in 12 years
Stable ? It was always stable for me up until 10.10 and it no longer worked at all . Now granted you did have quit PT to use it and then make sure you quit Core Audio before launching PT again (and i suppose if following that procedure seemed like a problem for you then OK,) but for me at least it was actually stable and worked every time . For me personally having to quit PT was never enough of an issue to implement a work around.

But as YYR123 said and as Avid themselves promised it should be fixed (at the very least to work like it used to ) if they can also make work while PT is open then so much the better.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.12 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 03-28-2016, 08:03 PM
SoundEng1 SoundEng1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 161
Default Whats the deal with the core audio driver?

Need this badly! when will we see it?

Last edited by SoundEng1; 03-28-2016 at 09:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 03-28-2016, 08:23 PM
A1's Avatar
A1 A1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 431
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

12.5... Is it Fixed?...
__________________
:+:
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 03-28-2016, 09:10 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,699
Default Re: Whats the deal with the core audio driver?

Maybe 12.6?

Maybe 14.2....maybe never.....honest answer, no sarcasm. For real
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 03-29-2016, 08:28 AM
K Roche's Avatar
K Roche K Roche is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wilds of Wyoming
Posts: 1,007
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

Quote:
Originally Posted by A1 View Post
12.5... Is it Fixed?...
Doesn't look like it. Unfortunately Avids info is ambiguous at best, "The Knowledge Base 12.5 Download" says quote "HD hardware is not supported by CoreAudio on Yosemite (or later). iTunes users, please check the Read Me."

The 12.5 Read Me for Mac says quote "On Mac OS X 10.10 (Yosemite) only, iTunes does not work with HDX or HD | Native hardware using the Avid Core Audio manager.
(PTSW-194693) "


So if the above "Read Me" text is actually current to 12.5 then one would conclude it is fixed for EL Cap but not Yosemite
BUT if the text is simply old text from before El Cap was even launched ( which much of the 12.5 Read Me text is) then one might guess it is not fixed for El Cap either.
__________________
System :
Avid HD Omni I/O Interface ...Mid 2010 Mac Pro/ processor- 3.33 6-core Intel Xeon "Westmere" w/ Memory- 24 GB, Radeon Pulse RX 580 8GB GDDR5 Dual HDMI Graphics Card..... OS- Mojave 10.14.6, and PTHDN 2019.12 on on primary boot drive (SSD PCIe 512 GB Samsung SM951) FCPX files storage on Samsung 970 EVO 1TB and PT sessions storage on 2nd Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB -- both in dual drive Crest I/O PCIE controller adaptor card


"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding" Albert Einstein

Enjoy the Journey
.... Kev...

Last edited by K Roche; 03-29-2016 at 08:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 03-29-2016, 09:33 AM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,699
Default Re: Please update Core Audio

No it isn't fixed, core audio support doesn't work with 12.5

Either iTunes or Kontakt standalone
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Avid Core Audio HD Driver Breaks Maschine in Yosemite ronwasserman macOS 41 12-10-2015 05:05 PM
Native instruments Maschine not opening in Yosemite OS bc of Avid Core audio Driver? amos922 Pro Tools 12 4 06-18-2015 01:27 PM
Avid hd native core card used $1200 Killbert Buy & Sell 3 01-14-2014 07:16 PM
AVID HD NATIVE PCIe CORE CARD CHEAP!!! Killbert Buy & Sell 0 01-09-2014 07:44 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com