Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-02-2012, 04:21 PM
kharla kharla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lodi USA
Posts: 16
Unhappy Installing without disks? New Retina Display pro

So, I'm typically a windows user. Been working with macs for a while and when the time came for a new laptop, I went with the new retina display. Now, if you don't know, the new retina display macbook pros do NOT have a cd/dvd drive.

Are there any ways to install the protools software without putting my installation CD into the computer? I have pro tools 9 and a 3rd gen avid mbox.

HELP!


and thankyou.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-02-2012, 08:12 PM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,780
Default Re: Installing without disks? New Retina Display pro

You have a couple of options. You might look in your Avid account and see if the installers are there for you to download.

If not, the easiest thing would be to buy an inexpensive external USB Disk drive, such as this one:

http://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/VLU2SD24XS/

I would go ahead and get that because you will probably need to have something like that anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-02-2012, 08:47 PM
Granitza Granitza is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 23
Default

You can install from a shared CD drive using remote disc: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5287
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-02-2012, 11:26 PM
arthisoftseo arthisoftseo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: A-303,Shapath IV,Opp: Karnawati Club, Nr: Shalby hospital,
Posts: 1
Default Re: Installing without disks? New Retina Display pro

The retina display mac does NOT have a Super Drive built-in. You can either share a drive from an existing iMac or you will need a USB Super Drive to play discs.

http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...s-support.html
__________________
Arth I-Soft is leading mobile application development company in India. We provide best custom iPhone application development services at affordable cost. We also offer iPad application development solution for offshore clients.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-05-2012, 02:54 PM
kharla kharla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lodi USA
Posts: 16
Default Re: Installing without disks? New Retina Display pro

Thanks for the suggestions guys. Here is where my next problem comes in:

I purchased the new 15'' MBP Retina and it's running on OS X 10.8.2.

I borrowed my girlfriends MBP, set up remote DVD/CD and put in my pro tools 9 installation disk. This version is Pro tools 9.0. I'm pretty sure. The installation is going smooth but stops at the final Running Package Scripts part.

Here is where it gets weird: I see a pro tools icon at the bottom on my dock. When I click it, it reads "You can't use this version of the application "Pro Tools" with this version of OS X.----You have "Pro tools" 9.0"

SO, what's a guy supposed to do? I bought this laptop with the 16gb upgrade to finally have PT at a portable, reliable level. I'm already having trouble with my brand new mac.

Anyone have any ideas? I have NOT installed my avid mbox 3rd gen drivers or any iLok drivers. My girlfriends computer did not fall asleep and neither did mine. That's about all the info I guess I could come up with at this time...

Thank you guys! Help me get my PT's to work! Or at least tell me to wait for Avids slow programmers to make [bleep][bleep][bleep][bleep] compatible. I cannot afford pt10 atm.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-05-2012, 03:32 PM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default

You probably need to upgrade to the latest version of pt9. I think it's 9.0.6cs.
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-05-2012, 09:48 PM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 35,019
Default Re: Installing without disks? New Retina Display pro

Pretty certain that OSX 10.8.2 will required PT10.3.2
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-06-2012, 07:14 AM
mbourque mbourque is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 133
Default Re: Installing without disks? New Retina Display pro

Official support for Lion came with PT 9.0.5, which is a full installer (i think). For Mountain Lion, you should try 9.0.5. If it doesn't work, you'll probably need PT 10.
__________________
Matthieu Bourque
Kaïku Audio

PT Ultimate 2018.12 on macOS 10.13.3

and PT HD 12.7 on macOS 10.12
Custom build
MB: Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU: Intel i7 6700K
RAM: G-Skill Trident Z 32 Gb
RME Fireface UFX
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with Avid: Pro Tools 10 and Retina Display/Mavericks jakemiller macOS 0 02-01-2014 01:32 PM
retina display macs and pt10 pappatoad macOS 40 07-03-2013 09:14 PM
PT 11 Support for Retina Display...? ronwasserman Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 04-22-2013 06:43 PM
Apple's new Macbook Pro with Retina Display Obsidian Dragon Pro Tools 10 20 03-20-2013 08:17 AM
Installing PT9 on MacBook Pro Retina Tigerspill macOS 5 12-24-2012 02:39 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com