Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Pro Tools | S3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-05-2019, 04:11 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 678
Default S3 OLED random issue

Hi folks,
Does anyone ekes have a problem with the OLED displays becoming corrupt after a few hours?
Here's an example of the problem.....




I normally see it after a few hours on either row, normally on the channels towards the left of the console.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-2019, 07:45 AM
EddieJones's Avatar
EddieJones EddieJones is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Santa Cruz
Posts: 1,775
Default Re: S3 OLED random issue

Could you post another picture with something on it (EQ/DYN etc)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-2019, 10:03 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 1,999
Default Re: S3 OLED random issue

I've seen it twice in the last couple of weeks. Reboot clears it up, but still...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-2019, 10:46 AM
JR Fountain JR Fountain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 326
Default Re: S3 OLED random issue

Ya same here. My send encoder on the top row was doing this for a while, rebooted and it went away. Thankfully haven't seen it since.

JR
__________________
J.R. Fountain
credits: www.imdb.com/name/nm0288354/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-2019, 01:40 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 678
Default Re: S3 OLED random issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieJones View Post
Could you post another picture with something on it (EQ/DYN etc)
Will do when it pops up again.
However, it's as per the previous picture.. It splits the OLED regardless of what's supposed to be displayed. (ie Left portion of image starts in the middle and wraps around to the centre... if that makes sense)

As others have mentioned.. simply power cycling the S3 corrects it.
It does not discriminate as to which display is affected.
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-10-2019, 03:36 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 678
Default Re: S3 OLED random issue

Here's another example Eddie!

__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-08-2019, 03:28 PM
Tim R. Tim R. is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,041
Default Re: S3 OLED random issue

I get the split OLED display fairly regularly. Also, have a dim OLED as well.
__________________
Tim Reisig
System 1: Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.7.0, HD Native TB, HD OMNI, S3/Artist Transport/Eucon 18.3.0.244, Rosetta 800 w/XHD card
Mac OS 10.12.6, 2012 Mac Mini 2.5Ghz i5, 16Gig RAM

System 2: Pro Tools 2018.4 (no Hardware), Mac OS 10.12.2, MBP (Retina 13in, Early 2015, 3.1Ghz i7, 16Gig RAM)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2019, 09:18 AM
MrDibS MrDibS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 39
Default Re: S3 OLED random issue

I just got this for the first time. Super annoying.
__________________
Macbook Pro 15 2.3 i7, 16 gigs, OSX 10.12
.6 PT HD Ultimate 2018.12, Native TB with Focusrite Red 8pre, Dock + S3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Random 'Not Charging' issue with PT Che_Guitarra Pro Tools Software (Mac) 3 10-29-2011 05:17 AM
random midi note issue lbar11 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 17 10-31-2009 07:23 AM
PT8 + ProjectMix... RANDOM distortion! this is a bizaar issue... rickenplayer Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 4 01-21-2009 11:39 AM
random new latency issue (digi002, imac G5) tempest1226 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 06-14-2008 08:30 AM
"Random" mix bus distortion issue globaleric 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 02-10-2006 10:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com