Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-2019, 05:27 PM
jpmorgan jpmorgan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Posts: 38
Default iLok update is blocking ProTools

Last week when I went to open my ProTools to work on a session, I got a message telling me my iLok was no longer valid, and it needed to be updated. So I followed the instructions, opened my iLok License Manager, and downloaded the latest update for Windows 10, 64 bit. It was a zipped file, and I installed it.
Well now, when I try to open ProTools, it progresses up to a certain point, then hangs at "Preparing to Install" the Window Installer while the Expand 2 instruments are loading. You can't Cancel, or exit the program, either. All you can do is Ctrl, Alt, Del, and sign out.
So, I'm completely blocked from using my ProTools.
What is wrong? What can I do about this? I'm not a software engineer, and I'm very confused.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ProTools hang-up.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	15.7 KB
ID:	11419  
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2019, 05:32 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,761
Default Re: iLok update is blocking ProTools

Try hitting shift when you launch Pro Tools. This will allow Pro Tools to open without plug-ins. If it launches, the issue is probably with plug-ins.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultranova audio interface blocking Fast Track Pro highpass FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 0 01-25-2016 01:36 AM
Atto EPCI-DC blocking boot of OS X AusTex64 Tips & Tricks 5 11-03-2010 03:03 PM
ATTO EPCI-DC blocking boot of OS 10.4.1 AusTex64 Storage Subsystems 2 11-01-2010 03:07 PM
Windows XP Blocking my big fish loops! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 03-10-2009 10:47 AM
big fancy plug-ins blocking the screen! MGalway Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 02-06-2000 06:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com