How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-17-2014, 04:18 AM

Default Cheapest way to get 5.1 in homestudio

Hi guys

I work as a sound editor for film and tv. Now and then I would like to be able to work at home.

I don't need a lot of plug-ins and tracks, but 3 things I need are:

1: Timecode option
2: AAF/OMF to PT conversion
3: 5.1 output

What is the cheapest Pro TOols solution for this? I start with no Pro Tools software to upgrade from unfortunately.

Is there anyway around buying Pro Tools HD, which is too pricey for my budget.

Thank you!
Old 01-17-2014, 07:51 AM

Default Re: Cheapest way to get 5.1 in homestudio

The first two are available in "regular" Protools. The third item (surround) is only available by buying an HD system.

The only workaround would be to buy regular Protools and then buy a Complete Toolkit license from someone, and then you can use that to upgrade to the HD11 software by itself.
Old 01-17-2014, 10:16 AM

In addition to nst7's advice, you also need an interface with at least 6 outputs(to cover the 5.1). Do you have a specific sample rate that your work needs to be? If 48K is good, then you have lots of options for an interface, including a used DIGI003, Focusrite Pro40 or LS56, MOTU 828Mk3, some RME boxes, or at a higher price point; HD Native with either an OMNI IO or an HD IO(buying an HD Native system gets you full HD software as well, solving the software hunt). What nst7 was talking about is Pro Tools 10(non-HD version) with the CPTK(which has been discontinued but may be available on the second hand market). It is also possible to buy HD software from eBay(but its around $1500). Lots to think about here, so ask lots of questions and educate yourself as best you can