Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 04-22-2015, 02:10 AM

Default Dear Pro Tools, it's been a rocky 16 years, I'm leaving you.

I've been using Pro Tools for 16 or 17 years now, and I've finally had it with you (check my join date).

I've been gouged beyond belief, burned left and right, and had more stress than imaginable.

I don't know any other DAW besides Pro Tools, but the constant bugs, full version updates so often, and now a "subscription" is just gone too far.

I've given you THOUSANDS and thousands of dollars, and I feel I'm treated like garbage.

If I paid myself $50 an hour to learn a new DAW, it will still end up being cheaper than you, and I'll be happier.

It's MUCH harder to gain new customers than it is to keep old ones. And your market share sure isn't looking good from my colleagues.

If there's a major, and I mean MAJOR change in your business model I'd (probably regrettably) possibly change back, but as of now, fair well!
Old 04-22-2015, 02:22 AM

Default Re: Dear Pro Tools, it's been a rocky 16 years, I'm leaving you.

Do you mind me asking which DAW you're considering as a replacement?
Old 04-22-2015, 02:55 AM

Avid have been nailing themselves into a corner a little of late. I am probably not the only person who has been checking out other DAW's just for curiosity sake, which often results in more things to complain about with Avid!

As an example, Reaper seems to have sorted out its ADC issues with outboard inserts. It actually is much quicker and easier to do than the Protools running coreaudio/asio devices.