Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > macOS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-05-2016, 04:26 PM
fweiss fweiss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default PT 8LE Configuration-- can it be saved (new OS issue)

My husband has PT 8 LE running on a Macbook Pro (2011). We upgraded his OS to El Capitain for something and his PT 8LE is no longer compatible. He had the Lion OS before. I know, I know-- big mistake.

If we restore Lion (which is possible), do we lose his configuration in PT 8 (ie: how the inputs and outputs set up, the templates, the internal clock setting, etc)? If this is the case is there a way to save or restore his old PT 8 LE configuration/settings?

I've already discovered from reading the forum that we cannot upgrade PT 8 to 12.... And I gather from this forum that PT 12 is the only version that's compatible with El Capitain. So I feel our best best is returning to the Lion OS.

Any suggestions or solutions are welcome. I would be eternally grateful. It took my husband 3 months to get his set-up right; I want to see if it can be salvaged. I unwittingly messed up his system.

Last edited by fweiss; 04-05-2016 at 04:27 PM. Reason: Title may not be clear
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-05-2016, 04:43 PM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,704
Default Re: PT 8LE Configuration-- can it be saved (new OS issue)

where is your husbands backup drive that has his entire system on it that he worked so hard to build ?? use that ..
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-05-2016, 04:57 PM
fweiss fweiss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Default Re: PT 8LE Configuration-- can it be saved (new OS issue)

I don't know that he has that.... He saved the audio files he made. To my knowledge, he didn't back up anything having to do with his configuration. Presumably it's still with PT8 LE, which he still technically has on his machine. So I'm wondering if it can be restored, moved... or the settings somehow carried over.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools 10 Student Version- To upgrade, or not to upgrade? KFPCalvin Windows 4 04-12-2012 09:37 AM
Upgrade to Pro Tools 8 (with upgrade dvd) asking for Auth code? (HELP) Mista808 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 02-12-2010 02:40 PM
Upgrade question - can I use mbox2 micro upgrade on 002 system? spreston 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-22-2009 12:22 PM
Upgrade link 'Sorry, no product found.' How can I upgrade?? dim 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-15-2008 01:44 AM
5.1 upgrade..drivers? also is the D-verb demo an upgrade? bryanbassett 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 05-21-2002 12:46 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com