Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Third Party Interfaces

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-04-2013, 12:37 PM
kyluigi kyluigi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 122
Default Focusrite Scarlett 18i8

Hey guys I recently discovered this amazing little box the 18i8. Just got released this summer/fall. It has 4 mic pres, 8 adat, and 4 line inputs with TRS connectors. Are the line inputs able to be connected to the line outs of mic pres or are these line inputs more for sources like a keyboard? For instance, mic into presonus eureka line out into the interface?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-04-2013, 02:28 PM
kyluigi kyluigi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: united states
Posts: 122
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8

Nevermind answered my own question with the manual. Here is the link for anyone curious about reading about this box http://d3se566zfvnmhf.cloudfront.net...er-guideen.pdf

I am looking to buy it as soon as I get the funds, looks like a healthy step up from my current interface, an mbox2mini and well has enough inputs and outputs for my small home studio. Just need to get PT11!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2013, 04:56 PM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,102
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8

Quote:
Originally Posted by kyluigi View Post
Nevermind answered my own question with the manual. Here is the link for anyone curious about reading about this box http://d3se566zfvnmhf.cloudfront.net...er-guideen.pdf

I am looking to buy it as soon as I get the funds, looks like a healthy step up from my current interface, an mbox2mini and well has enough inputs and outputs for my small home studio. Just need to get PT11!
Its not a step up from the MBox2Mini - Its a gigantic leap. I went to the Scarlette 8i6. The sound difference is night and day. I heard things in my mixes I never heard before. Unbelieveable clarity.

There are some minor glitches with the Focusrite Mix Control program and PT you have to work around, but the tradeoff is the great sound.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2013, 05:04 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,631
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
... minor glitches with the Focusrite Mix Control program ...
What glitches have you encountered? It works great for me in 2 rigs.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-14-2013, 11:59 AM
DonaldM's Avatar
DonaldM DonaldM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,102
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8

Quote:
Originally Posted by EGS View Post
What glitches have you encountered? It works great for me in 2 rigs.
If I load a session with a different sample rate than that which is set in Mix Control, then I have to close PT (sometimes twice) and re-boot it after manually changing the sample rate in the MC program. Otherwise, PT won't run the session. I've gone over this several times with the Focusrite help desk, but no solution. I have optimized everything etc etc. It is not my rig. There is a problem with the software and I have heard from others who have the exact same problems.

I see you're on Win-7 as I am. If you don't have to change sample rates, or if all you're sessions are at the same sample rate, then you probably haven't encountered any issues.
__________________
"Never believe anything you hear in a song." Tyrion Lannister, Game of Thrones
Owner: Dragon Rock Productions LLC
Dell XPS 435T/9000 Win-10 Pro 24gig RAM
IntelCore i7 CPU 920@2.67GHz
Pro Tools 2018.12
Focusrite Scarlett 8i6


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-15-2013, 09:32 AM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,631
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8

Quote:
Originally Posted by DonaldM View Post
If I load a session with a different sample rate than that which is set in Mix Control, then I have to ...
I rarely change sample rates. For me, this is a minor annoyance.
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019.10 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-17-2013, 09:14 AM
davethe1 davethe1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New York
Posts: 29
Default Re: Focusrite Scarlett 18i8

I've been curious about these interfaces; wow; alot of bang for the buck it seems. I saved up for an RME UCX; i'm quite happy with it but it cost a pretty penny. I envy and applaud you for this great find.
__________________
2012 Macbook Pro (Non retina) 2.66GHZ Quad Core OSX Sierra, 16GB RAM, 2x 1TB HGST Hard Drives, OWC Thunderbay 2 with 4X 4TB WD Black drives.
2012 Mac Mini late 2012 with same specs as above.
*Avid S3, Avid Dock, RME UCX, Eleven Rack, Pro Tools HD 2018, Waves Diamond/SSL, AIEP2, Komplete Ultimate 9, Ableton 10 Suite, Logic Pro X 10.4, Reason 9, Ilok 2, Maschine Studio, MPC Live, Toraiz SP16, Push 2, MPD 232, MPK249. DJ setup Urei 1620, ARS 3500 xover, Rane MP2015 2X Denon SC 5000, RMX 1000
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scarlett 18i8, PT11 6101 error thecaptainandme Pro Tools 11 2 02-06-2014 04:20 PM
Focusrite Saffire/Scarlett & PT9 Question... acmost Third Party Interfaces 5 07-06-2013 12:37 PM
Pro Tools 9 and Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 - Problems! willyguitar Pro Tools 9 0 11-28-2012 04:57 AM
Focusrite Scarlett - A Steal! RussUK General Discussion 45 05-12-2010 04:29 PM
Focusrite Scarlett justus1900 Virtual Instruments 1 12-18-2009 09:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:42 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com