Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2002, 03:41 AM
jkriske jkriske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 16
Default "bad data encountered while translating midi chunk list" diigi wizards help!!

hello
i'm running PT LE 5.1 on a G4 400 blue w/ Digi 001
for the most part i love it
we've recently moved all our session stuff to an EZQuest Cobra+ which after 3 days of trouble shooting i also mostly love.

however, one song, which was never a problem before and is deadlined for release mid march, will not load

at launch i recieve the message

"could ot complete the 'Open Session..' command because: bad data encountered while translating Midi chunk list"

i have never seen this error before (and trust me, i've used the digi nonstop for a long time now, i've seen many) anyway...

i did a search of the online answerbase and found one case relating to Windows
that said it was corrupted session data(makes sense) and the only answer was to make a new session and import audio.
We compose within protools think clicks n cuts or gazzilions of edits...
so imorting the audio files won't much help me get the song back

any advice or workarounds?

any answers much appreciated
we have a record to finish

jkriske@yahoo.com
pulseprogramming@earthlink.net
aesthetics-usa.com

PS we tried to download the 5.1.1 updater and get a unspecified error if we try to install it we're running 5.1 and even tried reinstalling 5.1 to make sure the update recognized we had it. Any ideas? A corrupted download do you think?

thanks again
__________________
Mac G4 MDD 1.25 Ghz (x2)
2 GB memory
ATTO,ExpressPCIproUL3d
Seagate Ultrawide scsi drive 70GB (x4)
OSX 10.3.7
PT LE 6.4cs9
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2002, 01:14 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,463
Default Re: "bad data encountered while translating midi chunk list" diigi wizards help!!

Create a New Session and use the File>Import Tracks command to move the tracks into the new file...all of your edits, automation and plug-ins will be retained (as oposed to just importing the raw audio data).

Re: PT LE 5.1.1 download
-Yes, it would be my best guess that the download is problematic. Attempt another download and see how that works.

Brent
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2002, 01:42 AM
jkriske jkriske is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 16
Default Re: "bad data encountered while translating midi chunk list" diigi wizards help!!

i had tried importing the tracks (sorry, should have mentioned that) but got the same "bad data....(etc.) messsage that i mentioned had happened when trying to open the session

any ideas?
THANKS FOR THE QUICK REPLY!

JAK
__________________
Mac G4 MDD 1.25 Ghz (x2)
2 GB memory
ATTO,ExpressPCIproUL3d
Seagate Ultrawide scsi drive 70GB (x4)
OSX 10.3.7
PT LE 6.4cs9
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DATA LOST,MIDI CHUNK LIST,SONG DATA IS GONE!!!!!!!!!??? gdx 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 06-25-2008 09:52 AM
Help-Bad Data Midi Chunk List PhilBuckle Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 25 04-10-2008 07:06 PM
Translating Midi Chunk List Error ( Making people paranoid ) dreamgroove Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 05-28-2007 09:23 AM
Bad data while translating MIDI chunk list prockmat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-05-2006 12:11 PM
bad data enountered while translating midi chunk list... HELP! jkriske 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 02-04-2002 09:22 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:16 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com