Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-23-2018, 04:30 PM
Nate Dogg Nate Dogg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1
Default Thunderbolt Via USB 3.1 Gen 2

SO I screwed up.. bought an HD Native Thunderbolt thinking I could get an ExpressCard to add Thunderbolt to my 2yo laptop.. seems not to be the case. I was able to find an ExpressCard USB 3.1 Gen 2 adapter tho and I'm getting indications that such a controller, since the cable is compatible, "will support Thunderbolt devices just without Thunderbolt 3 features" ... well the HD Native is Thunderbolt 2(1?) and I don't need the DisplayPort capabilities so.. if the data channels are compatible.. wondering if anyone has tried this? Is it possible I'll be able to access the interface this way?

I don't want to spend the few hundred on the ExpressCard and TB3->TB2 adapter if someone can definitively tell me it won't work. I also don't want to buy a new machine right now (much more $$ than that) unless that's my only option.. ?? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-23-2018, 05:18 PM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,198
Default Re: Thunderbolt Via USB 3.1 Gen 2

It won’t work. Different protocols.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-23-2018, 05:55 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: Thunderbolt Via USB 3.1 Gen 2

Won't work.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2018.10, HDX 3, MTRX, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.12.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2018, 08:12 PM
LukeHoward LukeHoward is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 718
Default Re: Thunderbolt Via USB 3.1 Gen 2

The short answer is: Thunderbolt support can't be added (my understanding is that, even for PC motherboards that have optional Thunderbolt cards, that still requires specific motherboard support). Macs either have it or don't.

Thunderbolt 3 uses USB Type C connectors, also used by USB 3.1, which of course can be super-confusing.
__________________
www.lukehoward.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thunderbolt via HD Native box vs. Strictly Thunderbolt TheGrobinson Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 2 01-29-2017 12:40 PM
HD native thunderbolt with thunderbolt card on desktop PC? martthie_08 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 9 10-12-2016 11:26 PM
HD native thunderbolt through Echo Express SE Thunderbolt Chassis hkj1 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 11-06-2013 06:49 PM
Until Someone Makes a Thunderbolt Hub, Thunderbolt is a (1/2 Useless) Dead End Street relaxo Pro Tools 10 7 11-12-2012 12:43 PM
Thunderbolt-Sonnet’s Echo™ Express PCIe 2.0 Expansion Chassis with Thunderbolt™ Ports Barry Johns Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 29 08-11-2012 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:31 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com