Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-01-2015, 07:35 AM
JSeamster JSeamster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Guildford, UK
Posts: 4
Default HDX card not recognized

Hi all,

My machine doesn't recognize a recently installed HDX card and wondering if anyone else has run into the same.

Details:

- The card is installed in a PCI-E x16 slot and aux power is connected.
- There is a steady green LED on the "business" side of the card.
- Another green LED on the backside blinks 14 times then holds solid for 1 second (repeating).
- There is no indication that it is connected in Windows Device Manager.
- External interface is an HD Omni

Very thankful for anyone who can shed some light on the situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-01-2015, 09:30 AM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,839
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

Have you installed the driver from the pro tools installation file? Does it show in the device manager as unrecognized?
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-01-2015, 10:57 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 10,978
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

You will have the HD Driver installer inside your Avid Account if you missed checking that installation when you ran PT HD package.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher


South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
SOUTHSIDEPUB

#Nothing Breaks Like a Heart

Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-2015, 03:17 AM
maunaloa maunaloa is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 112
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

You're using Windows. The bad news.... the HDX card needs to be in an external TB chassis unless your Win machine is an HP Z series "workstation" (perhaps in its prime the Z800 was a workstation, but not today). I've never been able to get an HDX card to work in Win in any mobo PCIe slot in any of my builds.
__________________
ASRock X99 OC Formula mobo, Win 8.1 x64, PT HD 12.1, i7-5960X CPU, 32GB G.Skill 2133 RAM, Intel 750 PCIe SSD boot drive, ASRock TB2 AIC, Sonnet Tech III-D with 2 HDX cards on TB2, Omni, HD I/O, S3, Artist Transport, SSDs and spinners, AMD HD 7990 GPUs, 2 HP ZR30w panels on DP.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-2015, 05:18 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,694
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

HDX in Windows (7 & 8.1) is working perfectly here. Custom built i7 six core PC with a Gigabyte motherboard.

What are the specs of your system? If installing the driver doesn't get the job done, perhaps you should post a Sandra report telling us about your PC.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300050
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools 12.4~2018.7, HDX~HDN~
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-2015, 11:01 AM
JSeamster JSeamster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Guildford, UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

Hi all, thanks very much for the ideas. A few additional notes based on your messages:

- The Avid HD Driver installed with PT 11 HD and if I try installing the driver on its own, it tells me that 'Setup detected an existing version of Avid HD Drivers installed on your system. Aborting installation now...". So it seems like I'm covered from a software standpoint.

- The card does not show up in device manager even as an unrecognized device. This makes me think there's something wonky on the hardware end and it's strange that I can't get any of our HDX cards to show up.

- @maunaloa: I haven't seen any mention in documentation or system requirements for the HDX about an external TB chassis or HP Z series machine. I know several folks who are using the HDX successfully with Windows on Dell and other custom built PCs.

- Worth mentioning: The cables that I have running to the aux power on the card are not what shipped with the card. The originals were molex->aux power but the PC cables were discarded long ago. So the new aux power cables I have were ordered directly from Avid but rather than molex->aux, they use the same type of power connector that you would attach to the aux power on a PCIe video card. Could it be that my card isn't receiving sufficient power to run? I've attached a pic of the cables sent by Avid.

Thanks again for the help, folks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5886.jpg
Views:	0
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	4507  
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-2015, 11:26 AM
JSeamster JSeamster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Guildford, UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

For those interested, my Sandra report:

Computer
Model : Dell Precision Tower 7910
Serial Number : J1P****
Chassis : Dell Tower
Mainboard : Dell 0215PR
Serial Number : /J1PGG42/CN7************
BIOS : Dell A02 09/05/2014
Intel vPro : 9.01.02.1010
Total Memory : 63.78GB ECC DIMM DDR3 DDR4

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2687W v3 @ 3.10GHz (10C 20T 3.49GHz, 3.5GHz IMC, 10x 256kB L2, 25MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA2011

Chipset
Memory Controller : Dell Xeon (Haswell-E) DMI2 100MHz
Memory Controller : Intel Xeon (Haswell-E) Integrated Memory Controller 0 Target Address, Thermal & RAS Registers 100MHz, 2x 16GB ECC DIMM DDR3 DDR4 2.13GHz 128-bit
Memory Controller : Intel Xeon (Haswell-E) Integrated Memory Controller 1 Target Address, Thermal & RAS Registers 100MHz, 2x 16GB ECC DIMM DDR3 DDR4 2.13GHz 128-bit
Memory Controller : Intel Xeon (Haswell-E) VCU 100MHz
Memory Controller : N/A 100MHz

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U
Memory Module : HMA41GR7MFR8N-TF 8GB PC34100U

Video System
Monitor/Panel : Dell Computer DELL U2410
(1920x1200, 24.0")
Monitor/Panel : PIO VSX-AX4ASi
(1920x1080, 37.5")
Monitor/Panel : Dell Computer DELL U2410
(1920x1200, 24.0")
Monitor/Panel : Dell Computer DELL U2410
(1920x1200, 24.0")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 (13CU 1664SP SM5.2 1GHz/1.39GHz, 1.8MB L2, 3.8GB 7GHz 256-bit, PCIe 3.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 (13CU 1664SP SM5.2 1GHz/1.39GHz, 1.8MB L2, 3.8GB 6GHz/7GHz 256-bit, PCIe 3.00 x16)
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 (13CU 1664SP SM5.2 1GHz/1.39GHz, 1.8MB L2, 3.8GB 6GHz/7GHz 256-bit, PCIe 3.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 (1664SP 13C 1GHz/1.39GHz, 1.8MB L2, 4GB 6GHz/7GHz 256-bit)
OpenCL GP Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 (1664SP 13C 1GHz/1.39GHz, 1.8MB L2, 4GB 6GHz/7GHz 256-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970 (1664SP 13C 1GHz/1.39GHz, 1.8MB L2, 3.8GB 6GHz/7GHz 256-bit)

Storage Devices
LSI MR9341-8i (511.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5) : 476GB (C:)
LSI MR9341-8i (999.7GB, RAID, SCSI-5) : 931GB (D:)
LSI MR9341-8i (2TB, RAID, SCSI-5) : 2TB (E:)
MAT****A DVD+/-RW UJ8E0 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (F:)

Logical Storage Devices
System : 499MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ LSI MR9341-8i (511.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
1Tb SSD (D:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ LSI MR9341-8i (999.7GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Data (E:) : 2TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ LSI MR9341-8i (2TB, RAID, SCSI-5)
OSDisk (C:) : 476GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ LSI MR9341-8i (511.6GB, RAID, SCSI-5)
Optical Drive (F:) : N/A @ MAT****A DVD+/-RW UJ8E0 (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Dell Wellsburg LPC Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : T1 08-00
Audio Device : Dell Wellsburg HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 280 High Definition Audio
Audio Device : nVidia GM204 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia nForce4 Intel Edition CPU to PCI Bridge
Serial Port(s) : 2
Disk Controller : Dell Wellsburg IDE-r Controller
Disk Controller : Dell Wellsburg 6-Port SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
Disk Controller : LSI Logic MegaRAID SAS-3 3008 [Fury]
USB Controller 1 : Dell Wellsburg USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : Dell Wellsburg USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller 3 : Dell Wellsburg USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 2 : Intel SNB/IVB/HSW-E XMB Ch 0 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 3 : Intel SNB/IVB/HSW-E XMB Ch 1 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 4 : Intel SNB/IVB/HSW-E XMB Ch 0 SMBus
SMBus/i2c Controller 5 : Intel SNB/IVB/HSW-E XMB Ch 1 SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Send to Microsoft OneNote 15 Driver (1200x1200, Colour)
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer v4 (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : SHARP MX-4100N PCL6 (600x600)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) I210 Gigabit Network Connection (Ethernet)
Network Adapter : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection I217-LM (Ethernet, 1Gbps)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 8.1 Professional 6.03.9600
Platform Compliance : x64
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-2015, 08:35 PM
Brandonx1 Brandonx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,839
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

Yeah hdx working in my asus x99-e workstation mobo. So you don't need a tb chassis. I am going 5o guess it is the power. Are you sure your pcie power from the power supply is working correctly?
__________________
Brandon Howlett
Vibe Audio Post, Inc.
Re-recording Mixer
Custom Build CPU, HDX 1, Omni, 192 I/O Digital
S6 M10 24 fader
Satellite Mac Pro, HDNative, 192 I/0
Black Magic HD Extreme
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-2015, 07:58 AM
JSeamster JSeamster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Guildford, UK
Posts: 4
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

I've tried it even with the power connections that were previously powering my video card. I'm going to get in touch with Avid to make sure they send me a properly terminated cable for the HDX, maybe the cable they sent is for some other card.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-01-2015, 08:56 AM
cman's Avatar
cman cman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 12
Default Re: HDX card not recognized

This may sound silly - but I had a problem with my Focusrite RedNet PCIe card. Their technical support asked me to try it in a different slot. That worked for me.

I would try that - and/or swapping places with your video card.
My two cents,
c.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD3 3rd card not recognized dhumez Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 12 12-29-2011 02:09 PM
192 not recognized from Core card, but IS from Accel Card. Advice? Mt.Everest Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 05-24-2010 10:14 PM
192 output card not being recognized jgossman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 04-19-2005 03:31 PM
DSP Farm card not recognized in OSX??? soundboy35 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 01-27-2004 03:24 PM
DSP FARM CARD NOT BEING RECOGNIZED BY PT Hans Mues Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 01-29-2001 07:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com