Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 06-17-2011, 12:45 PM

Default Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

Hi everyone,
Sorry if this has been asked before but I want to upgrade my mac pro (see signature) to Snow Leopard, and I don't really know what to do...your help is welcome.

First, which version should I buy ? :
A)The $29 simple upgrade version
B)The $129 Mac box set

Secondly, can I do a clean install with any versions and could you give me a step by step procedure to do it, please ? (I've never done this before)

Lastly, I saw several comments, on some tutorial videos and articles, talking about the illegality of some upgrade procedure: for example, upgrading a Mac Tiger to Snow Leopard with the $29 version...., just to say that I want to do a clean install of S.L. legally

Thanks by advance,
Loudy.
192 I/O |
Old 06-17-2011, 12:53 PM

Default Re: Upgrade from Leopard to Snow Leopard... I need some guidance, please

The box set just come with iLife. If you want/need any of the software in iLife, then get that. (iphoto, imovie, garageband, etc)

The $29 box is all you need if you just want the OS. It's a full installer, so it's not just an upgrade that needs a previously installed OS. I don't know why you apparently can't do that with a machine that had Tiger installed... but either way...

It's a pretty simple procedure. Just pop in the disk, click the icon, reboot the computer and away you go. You can choose to install over Leopard, but I much prefer to wipe the hard drive first and install fresh.