Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2010, 09:28 AM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Question Pro Audio DSP-DSM

Regarding DSM...
Is this thing as awesome as it looks? Been wanting to demo but no down time for months (knocking on wood). I'd like to hear what ya'll think about it....
Thanks DUC.
BT
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2010, 09:48 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,553
Default Re: Pro Audio DSP-DSM

The DSM is a good problem solver. Great De-Esser, great ultra MultiBand Comp, great built in Limiter. All from the guy that helped design the SL4000 and the Oxford console.

However, I've seen people get it and in the "honeymoon" phase of having it, thinking it's the "be all end all", then realizing that it's not magic and is easy to over use. It does not replace good technique.

But it's definitely a tool worth having IMO, especially if you're in the habit of "salvaging" other people's tracks.
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-15-2010, 05:20 PM
Oliver M Oliver M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Europe
Posts: 984
Default Re: Pro Audio DSP-DSM

One can overuse everything. Too much from anything will be a mess anyway.
I recommend to demo DSM and take your time, as I did. It is an amazing tool however and I would be surprised if you wouldn't like it.


Oliver
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-15-2010, 07:09 PM
bbob bbob is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: nashville, tn USA
Posts: 212
Default Re: Pro Audio DSP-DSM

Thanks guys,
I think my main use for DSM would be on upright bass. I do a ton of acoustic music and spend a lot of time automating volume on weak bass notes. If I understand the video correctly DSM could capture a level I like and apply it to the low level notes???
I also automate esses with faders cause I dislike de-essers. Looks like DSM could be helpful in that area as well.
I will demo as soon as things slow down in April. Let me know if I'm barking up the wrong tree with these uses for DSM.
BT
__________________
HD2 Accel
PT 7.4
OS 10.5.4
MacPro 8 core
www.btruitt.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2010, 10:48 PM
Dizzi45Z Dizzi45Z is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: UT, United States
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: Pro Audio DSP-DSM

LOL... Yeah. I bought this and I was definitely in the Honeymoon Stage with it. It's great, but easy to overuse.

From what I know, I think those applications would work for it. I have mainly just been using it as a final mastering process/Limiter
__________________
recording.guru : FREE Pro Tools Tips and 19 Video Basic Training Course
Pro Tools 12.8.3 HDX Mac OS 10.12.6
Mac Pro Quad 3.2 Nehalem with 32 GB RAM
Noisebox Studios -Utah Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Importing audio files for remix - convert or set session to match source audio? LSW Tips & Tricks 22 09-09-2014 10:28 PM
Video - Bobby Lombardi, Audio Product Strategist for Avid Audio at NAB 2010 DTheone General Discussion 20 04-24-2010 07:53 PM
Audio Suite process puts new audio in audio bin Fritz12534 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 12-21-2009 09:55 AM
PRO TOOLS giving 2 Audio track ''Audio 5_02.L and Audio 5_02.R'' fredson 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-20-2008 10:08 AM
USB2 Audio HD vs Fw Audio HD vs internal audio HD seth666 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 07-07-2005 03:06 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:42 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com