Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:14 AM
DorianMode001 DorianMode001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Default USB Hard drives

Hey guys,
I was just interested in why no-one seems to use USB hard drives? I've seen a few that seem to have a great spec (large size, USB 2 etc) and was wondering if Firewire is really necessary for recording?

Cheers guys

Joe
__________________
Digi 001
Dell 2400
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz
512mbs Ram
Reason 1.0
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:41 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: USB Hard drives

USB has higher burst transfer rates, which make it great for storage and backup (though some have claimed it works well for them with audio as well).

Firewire has higher sustained, continuous transfer rates, making it ideal for audio/streaming.

I prefer firewire... YMMV
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-22-2005, 09:58 AM
DorianMode001 DorianMode001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Default Re: USB Hard drives

So if I was to use a USB drive as opposed to a Firewire drive, what problems would I encounter?

Cheers
Joe
__________________
Digi 001
Dell 2400
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz
512mbs Ram
Reason 1.0
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:12 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: USB Hard drives

It's very possible that you might get hardware buffer errors; "could not get data from drive fast enough", etc etc.

I can't say with any certainty, though, as I've never been brave enough to try. I'd rather spend my hard earned money on something that has been proven to work, and is qualified and supported by Digi, which USB drives are not.

Like I said before, some have had luck with them, but why risk it?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:08 PM
DorianMode001 DorianMode001 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 96
Default Re: USB Hard drives

Cheers dude, think I'll go firewire then

Joe
__________________
Digi 001
Dell 2400
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz
512mbs Ram
Reason 1.0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:11 PM
mBoxLuvr mBoxLuvr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 337
Default Re: USB Hard drives

try one out first.
I have a USB2.0 slash firewire drive.
since PTLE warrants the firewire I use that.
but in some cases the drive can be hooked up a diff system using USB2 for storage use.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:49 PM
AchimHamburg AchimHamburg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hamburg / Germany
Posts: 139
Default Re: USB Hard drives

as my notebook doesn't support firewire I use a Samsung 80 GB USB 2.0 drive and don't experience any problems.
__________________
HD2 Mac Pro Quadcore OS X 10.5.6 PT 8.0
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2005, 01:38 PM
Abomb97 Abomb97 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Posts: 220
Default Re: USB Hard drives

I had my two drives on firewire with the 002. No real problems to speak of but I had weird troubles with the drives unmounting once in a while. I bought a USB2 card and switched my drives (seagates with both features) over to the USB2. I max my system out all the time and it runs rock steady, great. I leave the 002 alone on the firewire. I would recommend.

Also when I use my PT on my toshiba laptop, I had many errors when plugging in the 002 and seagate to the adaptec firewire card. Plugging the drive into the integrated usb2 and leaving the 002 alone on the adaptec solved those problems.


hope this helps someone.. I could of used this a few months ago.


J
__________________
ProTools 2018
1 x Apollo Quad Firewire
1 x Apogee Duet 2 mac/ios

MacBook Pro (15-inch,2018)
2.9 Ghz Intel Core i9 CPU
32 GB 2400 DDR4 RAM
1TB SSD System Drive
Mac OS High Sierra 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:14 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,113
Default Re: USB Hard drives

I have a USB2/Firewire drive. I use it with PTLE with either interface. I have never once seen a performance difference or error no matter if I'm using it as USB2 or Firewire. Your mileage may vary...

Mike
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2020.5.0 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:48 PM
Greg M Greg M is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Alpena, MI
Posts: 1,246
Default Re: USB Hard drives

I have a WD combo USB2/FW 120 gig external HD. It always works in the firewire mode and I usually get errors in the USB mode. FW uses a Siig FW card. USB is onboard Intel 845PESV.

Digi suggests firewire, I would use firewire.

Greg
__________________
Intel i7 3930K, Gigabyte GA-X79-UP4 (rev 1.0), 32 GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 ram, EVGA Nvidea GT 720 TI video card, a Samsung 850 Pro (256 GB) OS drive, 2 Samsung 850 Pro's (512 GB) in externally mounted drive bays for session and sample storage, Win 10 Pro, PT Ultimate (Native)2019.10, HD Omni, HD I/O 16x16 .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drives? delgado 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 12-28-2009 04:33 AM
Portable hard drives vs. desktop hard drives NHH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-02-2009 07:29 AM
SSD (Solid State Drives) Alleviating The Need For Two Hard Drives For PT? epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 30 04-13-2009 12:19 AM
Hard drives in LE NeXuS LE 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-22-2005 01:43 PM
Hard Drives alonzoslefthand 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 05-24-2002 01:30 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com