Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:13 PM
louielou louielou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 99
Default New Command 8

Is this rumour true?
I really want to get a command8 for my PTLE8, but I don't want to invest on old technology. I just got a 003 Rack and would like to compliment it with a new command 8.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-21-2008, 03:31 PM
Ninotep Ninotep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: New Command 8

Oh please let it be so!!!
Preferably with x-y surround panning and a knob layout suitable for 7 band parametric EQ control. Plug-in control is so woefully lacking. Flip mode just isn't a happy place...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2008, 10:35 AM
kingchong kingchong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
Default Re: New Command 8

I'm really interested in a new one also. It seems that it is the only Digi control surface that hasn't received a facelift yet. Hopefully they announce something soon.
__________________
Case: Antec Take 4 CPU: Intel Q9550 Mobo:Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR Ram: 8GB OCZ Reaper HPC DDR2 1066 Vid Card: EVGA GeForce 8600 GT System Hard Drive: WD Caviar 160GB Storage Hard Drive: WD Caviar 1TB Firewire: ADS Tech PYRO PCI 64R2 OS: Win 7 64bit Monitors: 2x Acer 22" Interface: DIGI 003r DAW's: Pro Tools 8, FL Studio 9
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2008, 06:47 PM
feyddude feyddude is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 9
Default Re: New Command 8

if it had an optical in port it would be amazing. I don't have a firewire port on my new macbook and i want to record drums!!!!

i would buy it in a millisecond if it was included
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2008, 07:48 PM
MindDead's Avatar
MindDead MindDead is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 179
Default Re: New Command 8

I am in the market for a control surface, but I think I am waiting till digi updates the command|8. From what I read it's the best under 3k.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:25 AM
pezking pezking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 266
Default Re: New Command 8

You're all gonna be waiting for a pretty long time... They aren't replacing the Command 8 soon...

Plus why would it have an optical port on it? It's not an interface.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2008, 03:27 PM
Ninotep Ninotep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: New Command 8

I find it reprehensible that Digi refuses to play nice with 3rd party controllers, yet offers no affordable solution of their own.
If its true we are only dreaming of some far in the future hardware build, then I suppose I'd settle for an add-on; something that adds to the functionality to the C8.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-30-2008, 03:49 AM
pezking pezking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 266
Default Re: New Command 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninotep View Post
I find it reprehensible that Digi refuses to play nice with 3rd party controllers, yet offers no affordable solution of their own.
If its true we are only dreaming of some far in the future hardware build, then I suppose I'd settle for an add-on; something that adds to the functionality to the C8.
If you've got a problem with that, you probably have a problem with the interfaces too?

It's not necessarily about "Playing Nice" with 3rd parties. It's about guaranteeing operation to a high level. Hence having qualified systems with which to run Pro Tools etc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-30-2008, 01:23 PM
Ninotep Ninotep is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default Re: New Command 8

Quite the contrary, actually, I am quite positive about the various interfaces, although I am, admittedly, not sure I understand the premise of logic to the "if/then" statement.
I think there is a great deal of truth to the idea that Digi must protect its operational reputation. I just don't think the omission of support for products such as the C4, expanded protocols such as Eucon, and glitchy relationships like Automap, does much to perpetuate that legacy.
Its not that I believe Digi should share its ICON protocol with 3rd parties, but it should, in its stead, create its own innovative DAW workflow solutions for the lower priced market (a mini D-command a la the VS-700C Console comes to mind). I should say at this point that I have a strong bias and sense of loyalty towards Digi, having worked professionally as a Pro Tools operator for the last 13 years, so anything I say should, indeed, be taken with a "grain of salt."
As for expressing the desire for a C8 redesign, or a wish list for its potential features, I'd like to think that feedback from these forums are, to some degree, factored into Digidesign's decisions to act.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:30 PM
vudoo vudoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 937
Default Re: New Command 8

Quote:
You're all gonna be waiting for a pretty long time... They aren't replacing the Command 8 soon...
My dealer told me the command8 is being discontinued. There's a new controller surface replacing it soon.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any difference besides color between D Command and D Command ES? diamondschwin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-12-2012 01:15 PM
Command Keyboard Focus mode ' E ' command bug ? vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-10-2009 06:49 AM
Is it possible to use a Command 8 in combination with a D-Command? usastra ICON & C|24 2 05-03-2009 02:44 PM
command 7 webstereo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-10-2009 05:28 AM
Total Loss of Command 8 Command/Modifiers John Pisciotta ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 05-13-2005 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:39 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com