Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-28-2005, 01:56 AM
dobby12 dobby12 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default Weird Behavior from my Mix+ rig

Hi, my Pro Tools rig just started doing something weird. I have a drum session coming in on Sunday so I was going through all sixteen channels of the snake, mic pre's, 888's, etc. to make sure everything was cool.

Well, channels 1-8 worked fine, but when I got to 9, I started getting a very nasty popping noise and no audio. I disconnected the mic pre and it was still there so at least that was working fine. Next step I ran Digitest and that showed everything passed.

I started thinking that it was either a. the interface, b. the digilink cable, or c. the actual card itself. I swapped the cable and it worked fine with either cable. I swapped interfaces and channels 1-8 worked fine on either one. I have a Mix Core, Mix Farm, and DSP Farm card so I unplugged the interface from the Mix Farm card, changed the settings, and hooked it up to the DSP card and I was still getting the same problem. So either my Mix Farm and DSP card are broken (and making the exact same noises which is not likely), or I'm missing something really obvious.

Bottom line is, as far as I can tell, the hardware is working 100% fine, but anything above A8 is only putting out a buzzing noise and no audio, and anything above A8 for inputs is making just a nasty popping sound. What gives? Any suggestions for be great. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-28-2005, 05:49 AM
Allbaldo Allbaldo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 285
Default Re: Weird Behavior from my Mix+ rig

Check the BNC cable between the two 888's. I had a similar thing happen, and that was the fix.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-28-2005, 08:37 AM
CHRIS AIKEN CHRIS AIKEN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: WARSAW POLAND
Posts: 438
Default Re: Weird Behavior from my Mix+ rig

Also reseat the tdm node cable that goes between your cards...actually reseating the cards could possibly help as well.

I'd trash all preferences after that too.

Chris
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5 GHz Intel Core i7 - 10.13.6 -16 gigs Ram - Lynx Aurora 16 Thunderbolt - Protools 2018.7 HD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
please help with this weird behavior Anibal macOS 8 05-05-2013 12:12 PM
Automation Help - Weird Behavior Daniel Sasso Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-26-2010 11:32 AM
BUG (7.4): Weird browser behavior Frank Kruse Post - Surround - Video 0 11-12-2007 09:47 AM
weird region behavior 372cat 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 01-15-2007 11:01 AM
Weird links behavior Oroz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 09-03-2006 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com