Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-03-2009, 07:07 AM
whtrabit whtrabit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 424
Default New Mac Pros Are Here!

http://www.apple.com/macpro/
__________________
jimmy

15" Macbook Pro R 2.6 i7 Quad/16GB RAM/OS X 10.10.5
27" iMac 2.8 i7 Quad/16GB RAM/OS X 10.10.5
Studio One 3/Reason 8/Live 9/Logic Pro 9/Main Stage 3
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:08 AM
studiojimi's Avatar
studiojimi studiojimi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 3,115
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by whtrabit View Post

looks like bye firewire 400

i had heard all firewire was out....but...they have 2 800 ports
__________________
CAZADOR RECORDING
PT10.3.10/HD6/192w16in/MTN.LION OS 10.8.5 / Westmere MacPro 8 Core W/20gRAM MAGMA-PE6R4/TDM&RTAS/WAVES Platinum/UA/Eventide Plugs/I usually record at 88.2
With GOD as my partner. . . I need to make my plans LARGER.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:15 AM
theblasters theblasters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 188
Unhappy Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

Only $5899 for a dual
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:18 AM
HassanDavis HassanDavis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 52
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post
looks like bye firewire 400

i had heard all firewire was out....but...they have 2 800 ports
No probs. You can always run a 400/800 cable.

Hassan
__________________
Pro Tools 10.0.1 / OS X 10.7.3 / Mac Pro Quad, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB Seagate Audio Drive / Macbook Pro, 4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:19 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,499
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiojimi View Post
looks like bye firewire 400

i had heard all firewire was out....but...they have 2 800 ports
FW800 port is more robust so I don't really care about the FW400 port being gone. You can always have 9-to-6 or 9-to-4 pin cable if you have older devices. Works perfectly, you just have to connect those FW00 devices last in the chain, because FW800 speed stops there.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:39 AM
lwilliam lwilliam is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Valencia, CA
Posts: 5,094
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

$3299 for the base dual CPU - 16 virtual cores. Nice!

$2499 for the base single w/8 virtual cores.

OK. I'll be the first: So when will it be Digi-qualified?
__________________
Larry

PTLE8/002r;OS 10.6.4 2 x 2.26Ghz quadcore,6GB RAM, Waves Platinum, many other plugins...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:42 AM
NUBEE NUBEE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 20
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

Ok, perhaps a silly question... but I don't know, so I'll ask...

Will our PT's HD PCIe 1.0 cards work in the new PCIe 2.0 slots?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2009, 08:48 AM
etherize etherize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 342
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

We all know Digi takes forever to Officially qualify new macs, but I need a new Mac Pro ASAP. If anyone tests these with an HD system please let us know. Since there is a 4-6 day wait time, I'm thinking of just going for it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:29 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,647
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

Quote:
Originally Posted by etherize View Post
We all know Digi takes forever to Officially qualify new macs, but I need a new Mac Pro ASAP. If anyone tests these with an HD system please let us know. Since there is a 4-6 day wait time, I'm thinking of just going for it.

Go on my son, go for it

I'll be tuned in tomorrow for the results

Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2009, 09:45 AM
etherize etherize is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 342
Default Re: New Mac Pros Are Here!

ah Chris.. feel free to go first. No reason for me to steal the glory and let Me know the results lol. Seriously though hopefully Digi can just make a statement if these are totally off the table for months, if they have been testing them already or don't have them yet. If they have been testing them, then what there experience has been etc. Then it's understandably play at your own risk.

Ps. And yes I know it's only been a couple of hours since their release
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010-2012 Mac Pros, Imacs, and Macbook Pros do multi-channel HDMI audio out! nst7 Post - Surround - Video 3 07-15-2013 05:37 PM
New Mac Pros due soon!? M-ManLA General Discussion 33 06-28-2011 01:49 AM
New Mac Pros. sburrows Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 09-01-2010 03:44 PM
PT HD over LE ? pros ? shutiri 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 61 02-27-2010 12:26 PM
What Do The Pros Mix Down To Hank5 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 35 03-04-2006 12:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com