Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > ProControl, Control|24, Command|8

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #31  
Old 01-27-2009, 02:46 PM
Intini Intini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK and Brazil
Posts: 220
Default Re: New Command 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoundReplay View Post
In Europe at least, prices are dropping seriously for Command 8...is this a sign?
This is what I thought too. I have seen they being sold for £435 new in a shop in one ocasion - but they didn't have many. But prices are lower than they used to be. But it may all be just speculation.
My personal opinion is that it would make no sense at all that only the command 8 would not be updated, despite of what is really going on.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 01-29-2009, 05:01 AM
pezking pezking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 266
Default Re: New Command 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Intini View Post
This is what I thought too. I have seen they being sold for £435 new in a shop in one ocasion - but they didn't have many. But prices are lower than they used to be. But it may all be just speculation.
My personal opinion is that it would make no sense at all that only the command 8 would not be updated, despite of what is really going on.
You're talking about Digital Village I assume...

They bought them as some kind of special deal, and if you check now, they will now be back to a normal price.

In fact there was a price rise at the beginning of this year across all Digi products. I really wouldn't hold your breath on a new command 8.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 02-16-2009, 09:06 PM
Intini Intini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK and Brazil
Posts: 220
Default Re: New Command 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by pezking View Post
You're talking about Digital Village I assume...

They bought them as some kind of special deal, and if you check now, they will now be back to a normal price.

In fact there was a price rise at the beginning of this year across all Digi products. I really wouldn't hold your breath on a new command 8.
You are right. I was talking about Digital Village.
Of course one day there will be a Command 8 substitute, but maybe not as soon as I imagined, I am afraid. This is just weird, as the Command 8 is clearly not in tune with the rest of the Digi line.
Personally, I will wait for the new Command 8 - maybe I am not alone?
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 02-18-2009, 05:14 PM
kingchong kingchong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
Default Re: New Command 8

I'm waiting also. From some brief research I did a while back, this thing came out not long after the 002, around 2004 if I recall correctly. What really baffles me is, that the retail price is the same as it was back then. I'll hold on to my cash until something sparks my interest, digi or not.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02-22-2009, 09:37 AM
theblasters theblasters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 188
Thumbs down Re: New Command 8

I really don't think Digi can come up with a controller that's up to speed or comparable to the Euphonix Artist All Digi has is the ethernet protocol but I'm hearing that the EuCon works with great speed Also, what I've seen on the Euphonix website in terms of video's which looks promising but can anyone comment on this item because Digi is slow to the table, short on idea's and expensive in price.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:02 PM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,475
Default Re: New Command 8

Good luck with the Euphonix. Just buy it, and you'll see how happy you are. The C|8 is hands down, the BEST way to control Pro Tools on the cheap.

Sig
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 03-21-2009, 12:20 PM
Barry Johns Barry Johns is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 3,567
Default Re: New Command 8

I wish they would update the Command 8 to match integration of the 003.
__________________
HD Native Pcie, PTHD 11, PT12 Vanilla, Omni, Lynx Aurora 16, 192 I/O (16 in/8 out), 24 Fader D-Command, lots of preamps and compressors.

MacPro 5.1 (12) Core (2009 MacPro 8 Core Upgraded to a 12 Core MacPro), 56 Gig Ram, SSD System & 3 - 2TB Drives, OSX 10.9.5, Windows 10 Via Bootcamp
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 06-01-2009, 02:50 PM
kingchong kingchong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
Default Re: New Command 8

It's been a while.. Any news??
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:16 AM
Razorfish Razorfish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 59
Default Re: New Command 8

I'm waiting too... ain't going to sink any money on an (old)
Command 8...
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:23 PM
kingchong kingchong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 37
Lightbulb Re: New Command 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razorfish View Post
I'm waiting too... ain't going to sink any money on an (old)
Command 8...
Yea, it seems pointless to invest in old technology. There have been many improvements and features added to the Pro Tools software since the Command 8 was released. There needs to be a more updated control surface for it, functionally and ergonomically.

Even the ability to "daisy chain" multiple interfaces for PT Le, so I could justify dropping another $2k on the 003 console.

Obviously there is some kind of interest in a new Command 8 or something similar, just look at how many views there are for this thread. (4687 as I am typing this, which by the way, is the most viewed thread in this section)

Speak up people!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any difference besides color between D Command and D Command ES? diamondschwin Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 10 03-12-2012 01:15 PM
Command Keyboard Focus mode ' E ' command bug ? vudoo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 2 09-10-2009 06:49 AM
Is it possible to use a Command 8 in combination with a D-Command? usastra ICON & C|24 2 05-03-2009 02:44 PM
command 7 webstereo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 03-10-2009 05:28 AM
Total Loss of Command 8 Command/Modifiers John Pisciotta ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 1 05-13-2005 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com