Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Digidesign Hardware & Software

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-14-1999, 05:43 PM
Avid's Avatar
Avid Avid is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 9,531
Default SampleCell Development

We very much appreciate the continued support of all of you who are Digidesign SampleCell customers. The latest "new feature" for SampleCell is Editor, and optionally TDM support, for those of you running Windows NT based stand-alone or Pro Tools systems. In fact, SampleCell now ships as a cross-platform product and includes (2) sample library CD-ROMs for both MacOS and Windows NT users. While this version doesn't add new features such as the file translation item recently mentioned, we want all of you to know that we are aware that SampleCell is an important part of your arsenal of creative tools and that you folks would like to see some new things for the product in the future.

While we can't be specific at this time regarding future development plans for SampleCell, we can assure you that we are "listening" to your wish lists for the product and that SampleCell is important to Digidesign as well. Please continue to let us know what we can do to better serve your needs, not only for SampleCell but for all Digidesign products. If you would like to contact me directly regarding any SampleCell related issues, you can contact me at dwood@digidesign.com . Your input is a primary source of information that we pay serious attention to when we're in the planning and development stages of all of our products.

Doug Wood
Product Manager
Digidesign
__________________
Administrator
Avid Pro Audio Community
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-15-1999, 05:52 AM
Bryan Bryan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 474
Default Re: SampleCell Development

Does "listeing" mean you are indeed keeping Samplecell R&D in your concrete business plan...or some variation of it...or working with a devel. pardner on a new technology? I know, I know, you "can't be specific at this time".

Maybe a db less cryptic though?

Thanks for the update at any rate, Doug. Good luck on Phat Samplecell!

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-1999, 03:23 PM
Lion Lion is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 131
Default Re: SampleCell Development

I would be very interested in having a sampler option added to my PT24MIX+ system but for me only 32 MB of sampling is no option, I need way more. I use samplers for
drums and percussion mostly (no loops) and my
ideal drum kit alone incl minimum levels of dynamics is over 2 times the 32MB SC offers. So, my question is : is SC a product of yesterday, still with support, or will you AGESSIVELY keep up with the future? (I am NOT bringing a PC into my studio just for unlimited sampling)I'd rather eat snakes (I am a vegetarian!)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-23-1999, 05:48 AM
Madjef Madjef is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Minneapolis, MN USA
Posts: 60
Default Re: SampleCell Development

Lion, I use several single hit drum kits spanned across the keyboard, with a couple of loops to boot and still have room within SC. You might want to truncate those samples dude.
I'm a long time akai user, but since going pro tools 24/Mix and Logic Audio, samplecell has really swayed me.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-27-1999, 06:58 AM
spacegoat spacegoat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: london
Posts: 42
Default Re: SampleCell Development

how about a new version of samplecell that uses the dsp on one of the farm cards or a software only version like unity ds-1.

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-27-1999, 08:44 AM
arne arne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 2
Default Re: SampleCell Development

Coool!

Good News!!

My suggestion (for a start): make it B&W G3-Compatible!

greetings, arne from Berlin
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-27-1999, 10:33 AM
Techsupt2 Techsupt2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 106
Default Re: SampleCell Development

arne-

DigisystemINIT 3.4.2 makes it TupperMac compatible. You can download this from our website, look for the link at the bottom of this page. Right now, the download file is a little messed up. I hope to fix it today. You can get it going by:

1) First get to the page of DAE/DSI versions available for download.

2) Instead of clicking on the link for 3.4.2, click and hold. Then select 'download link to disk' from the pop-up.

3) Save the file

4) Launch Stuffit Expander and open the .sea file from with the expander app.

-bryan
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-1999, 04:01 PM
malcolmpayne malcolmpayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: san francisco, california, usa
Posts: 7
Default Re: SampleCell Development

Top of my list would have to be 24 bit support. Now I'm working 24 bit sessions, its a real pain to have to bounce stuff back to 16 bit (with dither) in order to use SC2. The whole beauty of the system was that it used to be seamless...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-1999, 07:43 AM
fender fender is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: holland
Posts: 0
Default Re: SampleCell Development

I thought the TDM Connection with SampleCell is is 20 BIT?

Just like using an 882/20!

And if they did go 24 bit I sure do hope I can still use my 16 bit samplecell CD's I already have!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New development CPU at 100% Greg555 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 03-29-2009 09:27 AM
Soft SampleCell not compatible with SampleCell 2 P BUCKLE Digidesign Hardware & Software 13 06-08-2001 11:01 AM
Soft SampleCell not compatible with SampleCell 2 P BUCKLE Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 11 06-06-2001 10:24 AM
Any Samplecell development news??? Bushpig Digidesign Hardware & Software 12 01-07-2000 09:22 AM
SampleCell II PC spec & access to samplecell CDs Dewi Digidesign Hardware & Software 0 10-24-1999 10:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com