Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-27-2007, 11:44 AM
PTGuy PTGuy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 149
Default Fighting faders

I am having another problem with faders fighting back when I try to move them (generally at the beginning of a session). If I try to move the fader it acts like it doesn't want to move and sometimes even snaps back to unity but if I move the volume line down with the mouse the fader will stay down.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-27-2007, 01:26 PM
Bart HLH Bart HLH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brecht, Belgium
Posts: 91
Default Re: Fighting faders

Burst into the same problem now and then. When I mouse click the fader on screen it wakes up again.
I'm on D-Command.
__________________
www.highlakehill.be
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2007, 06:31 PM
Chris Lambrechts's Avatar
Chris Lambrechts Chris Lambrechts is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 1998
Location: Belgium
Posts: 2,027
Default Re: Fighting faders

could be a grounding issue ?

Is the unit properly grounded ? is the grounding in the room ok ? - and I'm talking PS ground here , not audio.

Next time you open a session and you expect to be in a situation that will likely 'provoke' the fighting faders try this :

put your fingers well on top of a few faders and wait a second or so before you move the faders. But do pay attention that you are well on top of the faders. How does this go ? Do you feel them fight back or not ?

Now ... let's asume they DO move without fighting ... next time you do the same thing but you wait less long before moving the faders. See what this tells you.

In general the faders should have a pretty fast reaction time after touch. In fact ... you shouldn't be able to notice any latency between touch and move.

report back and tell us what that gives.
__________________
Chris Lambrechts
Applications Specialist- Live Sound
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-27-2007, 08:15 PM
ishur ishur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 82
Default Re: Fighting faders

I've found that I almost always need to touch the top of the fader for a fraction of a second before moving it or it "fights" me even if automation is off. I assumed this was just normal behavior.
__________________
www.irwinshur.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2007, 04:55 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 644
Default Re: Fighting faders

It is indeed a question of "touch". I have found that the best response is touching the top of the fader with the fingertip. Trying to "flick" the fader with my fingernail or non-organic material results in a fight!!!
Sensitive stuff,
Nick
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.13.6, PT 2018.7 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-31-2007, 01:35 AM
mix109 mix109 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Athens/Greece
Posts: 612
Default Re: Fighting faders

I will agree with Erik
Yes it indeed a question of 'touch' Even using the thumb on the bottom of the fader will produce the this 'Fighting Back' behaviour
I have gone thru a lot of talkin about this with the Digi people and never got a reasonable answer.
Power outlets have been checked and swapped, but no results.
So you must actually....ride the fader :-]
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-02-2007, 03:37 PM
ARTHANOR Productions ARTHANOR Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 182
Default Re: Fighting faders

I am experiencing the same problem, always on the D-Command fader unit. One thing I have tried was to change the Ethernet cable. And the problem disappeared...for a few days. It came back only recently, and always with the same fader.
One strange thing I have noticed is that if you register the main unit before the fader unit, the problem disappears...

It makes me wonder if this could be also related to the external ethernet controller...

Best,
__________________
David Hadzis
ARTHANOR Productions

http://www.arthanor.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-04-2007, 01:24 PM
Bart HLH Bart HLH is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brecht, Belgium
Posts: 91
Default Re: Fighting faders

Had a fighting fader this afternoon, I fought back with "utility/fader/recal" and I won ;-)
__________________
www.highlakehill.be
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:01 PM
ARTHANOR Productions ARTHANOR Productions is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 182
Default Re: Fighting faders

Unfortunately, the recal function has never helped me. The only two things that have helped were resetting and reloading D-Command's firmware (which I can no longer do since latest firmware release) or changing the computer cable. I am only having problems with the faders on the fader unit, and they seem to happen on a regular basis. It is properly grounded, but I just wish for a magical recipe to stop this from happening.
Anyone?
Thanks,
__________________
David Hadzis
ARTHANOR Productions

http://www.arthanor.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-08-2007, 03:29 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Fighting faders

Quote:
I am experiencing the same problem, always on the D-Command fader unit. One thing I have tried was to change the Ethernet cable. And the problem disappeared...for a few days. It came back only recently, and always with the same fader.
One strange thing I have noticed is that if you register the main unit before the fader unit, the problem disappears...

It makes me wonder if this could be also related to the external ethernet controller...

Best,
what's you're ethernet config? (privet loop or on a full network, model of hub)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fighting faders Will Russell ICON & C|24 51 01-12-2018 07:14 PM
Faders fighting back remainanon ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 8 06-02-2009 03:46 PM
Fighting faders on a 002 console kidbazooka 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 07-09-2008 08:48 AM
Fighting faders? nettwerk ICON & C|24 6 10-15-2002 03:38 PM
HUI Fighting Faders JKD99 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 01-05-2000 11:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com