Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2013, 11:15 AM
dantheman80 dantheman80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 3
Default Having trouble muting audio track

Hope someone can help me out. I am using Pro Tools Express (only had it a little under 2 months now) and recording an audiobook. I just finished a chapter on a track and I added another track to record the next chapter. I currently have 6 tracks recorded and now that I've added the seventh I can't get track 6 to mute. I can put it in "mute mode," but when I start recording on the seventh track it "unmutes" and begins playback while I'm trying to read. I've done everything I can think of so now it's forum time. Anyone have a solution? I'd sure appreciate your help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2013, 11:21 AM
Rikk Rikk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Holyoke, MA, USA
Posts: 92
Default Re: Having trouble muting audio track

Looks like you have mute automation "on." Look on the mute automation track -- click into what might say "waveform" or "volume" change it to "mute". Highlight everything and hit delete. Now the mute automation is gone. Then go to the Automation window and make the "mute" button not active. This way you can play your track and mute away and not have it save this information for later recall.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2013, 12:13 PM
dantheman80 dantheman80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 3
Default Re: Having trouble muting audio track

Thanks Rikk, I couldn't find the mute automation however, I clicked the read button under the "waveform" button and next to the "dyn" button and turned it off. That worked butt I don't think that was what you meant. Thanks anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre fader Send from an Aux Track Keeps muting? Jazzride macOS 2 01-27-2014 10:02 PM
A way to mute a track while un-muting another track w one click? DrummerGuy09 Tips & Tricks 5 08-16-2013 06:44 AM
Having Trouble with M-Audio Fast Track and Pro Tools SE ncd1986 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 5 05-28-2013 10:05 AM
Need Help with Muting Track Imagine Nation macOS 1 02-02-2013 04:16 PM
so, when muting a track, does it still stream off the hd? audio junkie 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 08-19-2002 01:23 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com