Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2012, 06:46 PM
Napping Napping is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 61
Default Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

If I am working in 32 float and bouncing 24 bit files to disk, do I need to dither using a plug-in (IDR, PT Dither...etc.), or does PT dither on its own sufficiently?
__________________
Nap
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-25-2012, 12:27 PM
Napping Napping is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 61
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

Anyone? Wondering if I'm missing a critical step.
__________________
Nap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-2012, 01:17 PM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 713
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

If I needed 24 bit for compatibility, I would just begin in 24 bit and not worry about dithering until I wanted to burn a CD in 16 bits.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-2012, 01:56 PM
Napping Napping is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 61
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

And if you were working in 32 and bouncing to 24?
__________________
Nap
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-25-2012, 02:02 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,403
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

The first question, do any of your dither plugins even have a 24 bit setting?

If so, did you try it both ways and see if it sounds different?

Don't have PT10 so I really don't know... but if the dither plugins have a 24 bit setting, I'd use it.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-25-2012, 02:23 PM
Napping Napping is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 61
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

Wow! Great question! Checked and they don't. Was just assuming they must. Guess PT must do its own dithering on bounce that everyone is happy with?
__________________
Nap
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-25-2012, 02:42 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napping View Post
Wow! Great question! Checked and they don't. Was just assuming they must. Guess PT must do its own dithering on bounce that everyone is happy with?
if PT10 is the same as PT9 then PT does NOT dither on bounce to disk. it does dither when one uses the export method (after one has recorded the mix to a stereo track...16bit only IIRC)

check this one out. it has 24bit dither...http://www.pspaudioware.com/plugins/...ors/psp_xenon/ hope that helps
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2012, 03:20 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,392
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

I just did my 24 bit dither demo for an acoustic jazz mix client yesterday. I didn't tell him what I'd changed and he was floored by how much worse it sounded when I bypassed the dither plug.

My current fav. is PSP audio's xenon limiter. You can turn the limiting off with the control at the center-bottom while leaving the dither on. I use 24 bit with no noise shaping. My tests found this to give the best final 16 bit results also using flat dither down to 16. I like it better than 32 bit float.

If the mix did not employ dither, noise-shaping can sound better going to 16 bits. Using the dithered mixer in a TDM system accomplishes the same thing as the PSP plug in a native system.
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2012, 03:52 PM
panamajack's Avatar
panamajack panamajack is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Miniappleapolis
Posts: 713
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post
...My current fav. is PSP audio's xenon limiter. You can turn the limiting off with the control at the center-bottom while leaving the dither on. I use 24 bit with no noise shaping. My tests found this to give the best final 16 bit results also using flat dither down to 16. I like it better than 32 bit float.

If the mix did not employ dither, noise-shaping can sound better going to 16 bits. Using the dithered mixer in a TDM system accomplishes the same thing as the PSP plug in a native system.
I still have TDM cards, so I have the 24 bit mixer, and doubt I would see much benefit from a $249 dither plug-in unless I work outside of HD.

But it brings up an interesting point. If 32 bit is preferable for HDX and non-HD, and 24 bit file saves should be dithered, why are none of the Avid included dithers capable of 24 bit dithering?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2012, 04:23 PM
Bob Olhsson's Avatar
Bob Olhsson Bob Olhsson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Songwriter Gulch, Nashville, TN
Posts: 3,392
Default Re: Dithering from 32 Float to 24 Bit

Quote:
Originally Posted by panamajack View Post
...If 32 bit is preferable for HDX and non-HD, and 24 bit file saves should be dithered, why are none of the Avid included dithers capable of 24 bit dithering?
I've been asking them that for a decade!
__________________
Bob's room 615 562-4346
Interview
Artists are the gatekeepers of truth! - Paul Robeson
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
24 or 32 bit float Bender macOS 26 03-13-2018 06:41 AM
32 Bit Float boogiemotel macOS 76 01-20-2013 09:28 PM
32 Bit Float boogiemotel Pro Tools 10 28 01-09-2013 10:22 AM
32 bit Float Logichead Pro Tools 10 0 10-22-2011 11:08 AM
Help! What is a 32-bit Float Mix ????? Rhapsody 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 02-27-2010 09:46 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com