Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 08-07-2018, 02:09 PM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

No one? I find it hard to still read worrying stuff about Hdx not running well on low buffer sizes, out of sync stem bounces and not pasting on grid while in grid mode. I made my decision to be honest, so yes going for Hdx but it worries me that the so called industry standard still has it’s “stupid” flaws after all those years.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-08-2018, 03:54 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 581
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

If you want to use the dsp of the HDX you have to run avid, sonnox, mcdsp, softube, some stuff from plugin alliance and metric halo. Waves, FF and Slate are native only. And today there are no dsp VI.
__________________
Avid HDX - PTHD 12.8.3 on OSX 10.12.6 - PT Ultimate 2018.7 on OSX 10.13.3 (II partition) - Avid HD I/O 16x16 analog
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-11-2018, 05:23 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,930
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

CLOSEST TO TDM as I've used.
((Feelwise))

My tester (sig specks√) is fit for tracking and composing.
(Mid Scale)
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's U2018.7 MacOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(NVIDIA P4000 3-Displays)
(1080p - 2K/4K - 1080p)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
Nucleus V1 (HUI MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-14-2018, 05:24 PM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 477
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

I have 3 HDX cards. I couldn’t mix without them. A native system can’t handle the 600+ track sessions I sometimes run. I also used Nuendo for 10 years, and it’ll eventually choke too.

As other mentioned, the HDX cards won’t power your VI’s. But it will take over powering your other plugins and leave your native processor for the VI’s.

Also, the built-in ‘Pro’ plugins that come with PT Ultimate are amazing. Lots of them were taken from Euphonix. And all run on HDX.

Get a cheep cheese grater and load it up with cards.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
HP Z230 Hackintosh, RME MADI
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-14-2018, 11:06 PM
ndenotter ndenotter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Posts: 10
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

Thnx for the reply man! That kinda answers my gut feeling or err instinct haha. Track load and powerfull plugins are doing it for me. No software is holy, I love how Nuendo has many nifty and very fast midi features but hey, I still compose and mix for ads and feature films on my trusty rusty HD3 in PT so I'll stick to it.
Some VI's native would be fine but with maxed-out SSD Imacs running Vienna Pro I got that covered as well.

But. cheese-gr or trash can. Both old but one is very old and I do have an unused Goliath HD in storage and it should hook-up to HDX ports but, errr, the trash can feels like th slightly better choice. Perhaps getting a phat refurbished one and wait for the new one.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-15-2018, 08:55 AM
lucienpalmer lucienpalmer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 477
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

It depends which features you need for connection ports (i.e. USB 3) and how many PCI slots (for HDX cards). I went with a 2012, because the 2013 trash cans were way more money compared to what you get. With the trash can, you definitely have to buy a PCI expansion chassis to run HDX cards.

I just upgraded my 2012 cheese grater with a $350 from Ebay to increase the speed from 12-core 2.4 to 12-core 3.45. The Geekbench score is 23955, which is faster than the 8-core 3 GHz trash can, and only slightly slower than the 12-core 2.7 GHz trash can (still over $6,000 USD).

You can buy a 2012 MacPro on Ebay for about $1000-1200. IF you want, max out the speed with a processor kit for $350 (optional). Add a USB 3 card for $50. and still have two PCI slots for a pair of HDX cards. The only place where the old Mac falls short is the slower SATA 2 internal drive bays. But the key is to expanding with the PCI slots.

I went super crazy maxing it out by adding two Netstor PCI expansion chassis for $750 each, which give you a total of 8 PCI slots for 3x HDX cards, USB 3 card, RAID card for dual SSD storage, PCI SSD blade for the system drive, AJA LHi Kona video card, and Nvidia GeForce 1080 video card. Also, the pair of SSD RAID drive are stored inside one of the Netstor expansion chassis. http://www.netstor.com.tw/product_su...Title=TurboBox

And none of the above is wasted if I ever 'upgrade' to a different computer without PCI slots, because the two expansion chassis are each upgradable to Thunderbolt for about $100.

So even with 'maxing' it all out, I'm still only spending a fraction of what the trash can would be. Because the trash can requires you to buy the expansion chassis to do anything. To be fair, you could easily argue that you don't need a second one for USB 3 or a video card because its built in to the trash can. So, it would only be $6k for the mac + $750 for one expansion chassis VS. $3k for a mega-fully loaded cheese grater.

You could also buy a PC and run MacOS on it. That is really easy to do these days, but the system will definitely has some quirks. I run one, and its not as stable as my MacPro.
__________________
Pro Tools Ultimate, HDX3 & MTRX + HD MADI
MacPro 3.45 12-core, OSX 10.12
HP Z230 Hackintosh, RME MADI
S6 M10 16-5 w/ producer desk
AJA Kona LHi, Sync HD
www.ToolshedAudioPost.com
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-05-2018, 08:52 PM
citysoundman citysoundman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 543
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

I have 2009 cheese graters running PT10 HD that I will soon upgrade the processors to faster-than-Trashcans so I can upgrade to HDX. There are a number of threads here about this, and users appear to be extremely happy running the latest version of PT 2018. One great advantage for HDX is having the PCI slots, vs needing an expansion chassis on the trashcans. The processor upgrades are available on Ebay
__________________
Bob Kirschner
Chief Engineer
Creative Media Design, NYC
http://cmdnyc.com
bob@cmdnyc.com
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-06-2018, 09:07 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 1,930
Default Re: HDX - Invest or not?

Solid hdx here.

The Avid team is settling in.

Processors, memory, video and ssd drives all play a part.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

PT's U2018.7 MacOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(NVIDIA P4000 3-Displays)
(1080p - 2K/4K - 1080p)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
Nucleus V1 (HUI MIDI over IP)
----
Surround-music-design-creation.
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.
Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would you invest in HD3 PCIe today? Trailerman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 18 05-18-2011 02:53 PM
Should I invest in Pro Tools? worldwidestudios Post - Surround - Video 18 08-31-2010 09:06 AM
What should i invest in next? MaKoRancid 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 25 03-23-2004 10:21 AM
should i invest into a control for pt??? KemikAL 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 23 06-04-2002 06:16 AM
Invest in PRO-TOOLS now??? microphone General Discussion 16 06-08-2000 06:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:47 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com