Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-05-2018, 11:35 AM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 375
Default What's with the partial dropouts?

MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport on Eucon 3.6.1.

I keep getting these partial dropouts with the hardware's connection to Nuendo 7. Everything works fine for 2 to 3 hrs. Then, channel controls just stop working or my plugin presets won't launch. Sometimes the channel scroll function goes out. There are LOTS of these little partial dropouts. I never know what will go or when.

Yesterday, I programmed a bunch of macros with layouts. I SAVED THE WORK and made a backup. This morning, none of the new macros were there!! I could see traces of the work; the titles had changed to generic labels in the blocks where I'd programmed the macro. I lost an hour and a half re-writing those patches again.

A reboot will bring everything back online. But why is it dropping the connection in the 1st place? This is annoying as hell. Anybody else have this issue?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-05-2018, 07:13 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 375
Default Re: What's with the partial dropouts?

MC Control, 2 Mix & Transport on Eucon 3.6.1.

I opened a new template that included those Macros I mentioned in the initial post. This time there was no formal shutdown. I just wanted to check them BEFORE I stopped work for the day (12 hr day). The macros were scrambled again!!

I've got layouts that are paired with the 8 Visibility Agents in Nuendo 7. On some Agents requiring more than 20 faders, I made a second layout to cover the remaining tracks. 6 out of the 8 are 20 faders or less. That gives me one button control of the Agents. I launch the Agent (ie: Kick, Snare & Bass) from the MC Control and the hardware matches the DAW exactly and instantly! At least, that's how it worked before I shut the STORED TEMPLATE down and went back tot work on my project.

But when I checked this time, the macros had scrambled again. Eucon had Layout 6 paired with Visibility Agent 8! I had store Layout 8 with VA8, so, why is it now showing layout 6 in the macro? I corrected the pairings, which cost me another half hour and SOME of the layouts had changed. Layouts where I had stored blank spaces, in some cases, had reverted back to assigned spaces! WHY AREN'T THESE SETTINGS STAYING LOCKED?

Meanwhile, the hardware dropped the connection 3 times today. It's only a 60 second interruption to reboot Eucon. But that is a real workflow killer, especially if you're in the zone!

How do I get this hardware to act like a STABLE piece of professional gear?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2018, 12:41 PM
MoPro's Avatar
MoPro MoPro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Tampa Bay Area, USA
Posts: 53
Default Re: What's with the partial dropouts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by KeyplayerG View Post


How do I get this hardware to act like a STABLE piece of professional gear?
A better question... has the software for this hardware ever been stable?

For me it always seems just on the edge of irritating!

Every so-called update might, and I do want to emphasize "Might" fix something, but always at the expense of breaking something else.

It's tough, but I've learned not to update to the latest version of EuControl, because there is always some new hurdle to overcome!

My solution is to work with what gives me the best options... so far it seems to be EuControl ver. 3.3.1

I do love being able to turn the fader motors off while monitoring a mix... shame on the people who decided to remove this function in later versions...

I realize the option is still available if you assign the "Faders Off" function to the soft buttons, but unless in my case Steinberg writes the "Faders Off" function into the EuCon Adapter for Cubase, and Nuendo... we don't have access to this incredibly useful function in later versions of EuControl...

Sorry if I seem annoyed... I know it doesn't answer your question, but I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for one.

Al
__________________
Computer Asus P9X79 Deluxe | Intel i7 3930k | 32 Gig Ram | Intel 520 SSD's | 2T Caviar Black
Software Win 7 Ultimate (64bit) | Cubase Pro 9.5.10 (64bit) | Cubase 8.5.20 (64bit) | WaveLab 9.0.35 (64bit) | HALion 5 (64bit)
Hardware RME FireFace's UFX / 800 | MOTU MTP AV USB | Avid Artist Series: Control, Mix, and Transport | EuControl ver. 3.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2018, 01:43 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 375
Default Re: What's with the partial dropouts?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoPro View Post
A better question... has the software for this hardware ever been stable?

For me it always seems just on the edge of irritating!

Every so-called update might, and I do want to emphasize "Might" fix something, but always at the expense of breaking something else.

It's tough, but I've learned not to update to the latest version of EuControl, because there is always some new hurdle to overcome!

My solution is to work with what gives me the best options... so far it seems to be EuControl ver. 3.3.1

I do love being able to turn the fader motors off while monitoring a mix... shame on the people who decided to remove this function in later versions...

I realize the option is still available if you assign the "Faders Off" function to the soft buttons, but unless in my case Steinberg writes the "Faders Off" function into the EuCon Adapter for Cubase, and Nuendo... we don't have access to this incredibly useful function in later versions of EuControl...

Sorry if I seem annoyed... I know it doesn't answer your question, but I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for one.

Al
I completely understand your annoyance! Who wants to start each work day wondering if his tools will even work?!!? 🤤 It's ridiculous! Today, everything SEEMED stable. But who knows what'll happen tomorrow?

What really scares me is the possibility that stuff like this could happen with the S6! For that price point, we'd have a "film at 11 situation!" 😉 Meanwhile, I can accept the "Not ready for prime time" status of the Artist Series, IF it will just DO what it was designed to do CONSISTENTLY!! Turn on in the morning, work as long as I do (no drop outs), HELP ME finish my projects on time, while letting me "bond" with it over time, just like a console, so that I can work on it almost blindfolded! I don't think that that is too much to ask from any piece of gear! 🤔
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Partial waveforms? trakbytes Pro Tools Software (Mac) 1 01-10-2014 02:49 PM
EP-11S & GCP Partial 'Sweep'? EvilPhish Eleven Rack 0 10-13-2013 12:58 PM
I'm getting partial playback... Distorchestra Eleven Rack 3 07-08-2013 04:31 PM
partial Thanks Digitechsupport! MacDaddy WGAR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 07-16-2007 03:10 PM
Partial lost take jsnell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-20-2003 02:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:30 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com