Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2013, 02:59 PM
DanielEUCON's Avatar
DanielEUCON DanielEUCON is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 125
Default Using Bonjour Browser to troubleshoot EUCON 3

EUCON 3 Bonjour Browser

There is a free tool that is very helpful when determining the source connection issues for EUCON 3.

Bonjour Browser: https://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/13388/bonjour-browser
There is a Windows version available also. Google Knows.

So here are the things to look for:

_euconproxy._tcp

- this is the service that Artist Surfaces use to connect to EuControl. In the image you can see My Artiwst Mix connected and it displays a link-local address (169.254.123.223). In this case it is set to use DHCP however it is connected via a switch so no DCHP is available. This is why you see link-local address.
- if surfaces are not connecting to EuControl this is the first place to check. If Bonjour Browser doesn’t see it, we won’t see it either and it is a network setup issue outside of EUCON world.


_eudof._tcp

- this is the big change from EUCON 2 to 3. These are the core elements that makes DAWs, Workstations and EuControl, etc talk to each other. This is not used for any Artist Surface connection but rather connecting to DAW and Workstations.
- in eudof there are various services to look for:

EUCON_MC
- EuControl on your local machine will appear as EUCON_MC.
- Any other instance of either MC App (the application that runs on MC Pro) EuControl on other machines will also appear here as EUCON_MC entries. The IP address tells you which machine it lives on.
- In the image you can see my instance of EuControl as EUCON_MC, it also has a link-local IP address (same reason as explained above).


EUCON_Node_Browser
- Any EUCON enabled Application on the network will create two instances of this. In this case I have ProTools 11 running locally only.

EUCON_Node_Observer
- this is created by MC_Client. It still runs in the background. This is needed to "see" the other EUCON nodes on the network. If this is not there you will not be able to see workstations or EUCON aware apps as EUCON nodes. In turn no EUCON connection when you focus on the app.

EUCON_Workstation
- This is also created by MC_Client in the background. This is what puts the workstation (local machine) on the network as a viable EUCON node for EuControl (or other EUCON_MC nodes) to attach to it.
- again if this is missing you will not have any app focus awareness, or EUCON connection to EUCON aware apps running on the workstation.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2013, 04:55 PM
DanielEUCON's Avatar
DanielEUCON DanielEUCON is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 125
Default Re: Using Bonjour Browser to troubleshoot EUCON 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarbyshirebryant View Post
Thanks for this Daniel - in an amazing bit of synchronicity I had just downloaded 'Bonjour Browser' for Windows not more than 20 minutes ago to learn a bit more about all the zeroconf stuff on my network.

Make this a sticky?
Yup. Sticky would be good.
I post from Tapatalk so I'm not sure how. In fact no idea if I have those kind of powers around here. Lol
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-02-2013, 11:36 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,838
Default Re: Using Bonjour Browser to troubleshoot EUCON 3

Stuck as per Daniel's desire.


Parroted on my iPad with Tapasquawk.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Sierra 10.12.6.

Pro Tools HD 2018.7, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
[/I]
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-15-2013, 05:19 PM
DanielEUCON's Avatar
DanielEUCON DanielEUCON is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 125
Default Using Bonjour Browser to troubleshoot EUCON 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarbyshirebryant View Post
Those of an iphone/iPad persuasion may be interested in the 'discovery - bonjour browser' app, a freebie on the App Store which displays bonjour services on your connected network.
Nice. Gonna try this out. I imagine It will only be helpful if the WiFi is on the same subnet as the EUCON network. Not hard to do and not uncommon on home routers by default.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-12-2014, 06:15 PM
KeyplayerG's Avatar
KeyplayerG KeyplayerG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 382
Default Re: Using Bonjour Browser to troubleshoot EUCON 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarbyshirebryant View Post
Thanks for this Daniel - in an amazing bit of synchronicity I had just downloaded 'Bonjour Browser' for Windows not more than 20 minutes ago to learn a bit more about all the zeroconf stuff on my network.

Make this a sticky?
Do you have a link for the Windows 7 Pro download version?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EuCon vs Bonjour on Windows 8.1 bonestonne Artist Series 6 10-31-2013 03:39 PM
Bonjour! Emcha_audio Le Forum en Français 0 04-21-2013 05:03 PM
EUCON 2_6_1 eucon discovery cant find ip klaukholm System 5 2 10-22-2011 01:01 PM
MC MIX PC: Bonjour/Input Director conflict DTSR Artist Series 0 03-01-2011 09:35 AM
Alert - EuCon 2.5.6 is only for Pro Tools 9 and EuCon DigiTechSupt Artist Series 11 02-24-2011 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com