Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2010, 07:32 AM
Nick Camaron Nick Camaron is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Somewhere in the vicinity of Alpha Centauri, MW
Posts: 155
Exclamation @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

Hi Digi,

I wonder if there is an function-update planned concerning a clip based gain control feature for individual selected regions.. ?
This would save tons of hours of stupid workarounds in postproduction environments..
Nuendo does.. AudioVision did.. but PT is still - still - still in this fiddly huggermugger breakpoint & volume graph only thing.

A combination of both would give us real power..

DIGI !!! Please!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2010, 08:00 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,078
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

there are lots and lots and lots of posts asking for this going back years and still nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2010, 01:42 PM
Stylin' Audio Stylin' Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 218
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

This horse has been beaten to a awfully bloody pulp. I have been wishing and requesting it for so long that I can't even think about it anymore without tearing up.
__________________
Colin Van Hattem
Noizemaker Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-26-2010, 05:07 AM
tigas tigas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 150
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

I'm laughing, but I still think we'll get clip-based volume before folders in the Region List
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-26-2010, 05:43 AM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 943
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

Every rose has its thorn.
__________________
Vedat

WaveRider + Defaulter (now with LKFS)
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app

SALE ON NOW. UP TO 60%
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-26-2010, 09:03 AM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

8.2????
__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-26-2010, 09:06 AM
Stylin' Audio Stylin' Audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Burlington, ON Canada
Posts: 218
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FajitaTone View Post
8.2????
Years?
__________________
Colin Van Hattem
Noizemaker Productions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-26-2010, 10:10 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,807
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

Hmm. I'm trying to think of what I can say about this that isn't just some rambles about why it's not implemented yet or saying it's 'high on our list' (it is), yet doesn't stray into verboten territory regarding discussion of future development...but I'm not coming up with anything that seems appropriate.

I think the best thing to do is hop on over to http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/12334-3779 and vote up that feature.

We definitely understand it's importance.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-26-2010, 01:36 PM
cubivore cubivore is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: houston tx
Posts: 87
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

having worked only in PT, i'm not sure what this is or why it's important. i guess if you've never had it, you'll never miss it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-26-2010, 07:03 PM
FajitaTone FajitaTone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 1,239
Default Re: @DIGI.. What about "Clip based Gain"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubivore View Post
having worked only in PT, i'm not sure what this is or why it's important. i guess if you've never had it, you'll never miss it.
it helps if you are working with AAF or OMF from an Avid video editing system, like Media Composer or DS.
__________________
Ray Trujillo
Freelance Audio Engineer
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audible "Tick" at Clip Gain Pencil Points? lowlights Windows 1 09-25-2012 03:25 PM
Clip based gain pops/clicks bluemoa Pro Tools 10 0 09-25-2012 03:09 AM
exporting clip based gain to AAF rpossum Pro Tools 10 0 09-18-2012 12:12 PM
AAF and clip based gain cjwalker macOS 6 07-11-2012 02:32 PM
Can't find "Convert Automation to clip based gain" boinkpl macOS 2 11-03-2011 12:33 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com