Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #111  
Old 09-04-2017, 07:01 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 108
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

I've proved and there seems to be empirical evidence that there's a substantial difference between the amount of -9173 thrown up in 12.4 and 12.5/6/7/8/8.1

However this is not to say 12.4 will never -9173. So perhaps the additional internet polling of subsequent versions has added or worsened an existing problem.
__________________
_____________________________________________

Pro Tools 2018.12 - MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 Mid 2015 16 GB RAM 1TB Flash SSD - macOS 10.13.6

Pro Tools 2018.7 - 0db Hackintosh 4.0 Ghz i7 32 GB RAM 256GB Flash SSD - macOS 10.12.2
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 09-04-2017, 08:59 AM
Guilla Guilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: pARIS
Posts: 106
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbree View Post
I've proved and there seems to be empirical evidence that there's a substantial difference between the amount of -9173 thrown up in 12.4 and 12.5/6/7/8/8.1

However this is not to say 12.4 will never -9173. So perhaps the additional internet polling of subsequent versions has added or worsened an existing problem.
What was added in 12.5 / 12.6 so ?

I've heard some people getting a slightly better situation with 12.4 (the studio where I work is 12.5).
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 09-04-2017, 09:21 AM
lesbrunn lesbrunn is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Accra, Ghana
Posts: 637
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Weed View Post
Try uninstalling Cloud Collaboration - and Application Manager.
I used to do that in older versions, but things seem to have changed from 12.8 (maybe earlier, because 12.7, 12.7.1 didn't work well for me and I skipped them) Someone please correct me if I'm wrong. When I uninstall them, PT doesn't start, and I have to reinstall it. Instead, I now just disable them.
__________________
X99 | i7 5960x @4.6GHz | 64GB GSkill DDR4 | Nvidia GTX 950 | Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256GB | Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB | Samsung 850 EVO 1TB | Samsung MZ7PD256 SSD 256GB | Kingston 120GB SSD | WD Black 1TB x2 | G-Drive 4TB x2 | WD Elements 4TB | Audient ID14 | PT19.12 | Windows 10 Pro
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 09-05-2017, 04:24 PM
MusicMadness MusicMadness is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 77
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbree View Post
I've proved and there seems to be empirical evidence that there's a substantial difference between the amount of -9173 thrown up in 12.4 and 12.5/6/7/8/8.1

However this is not to say 12.4 will never -9173. So perhaps the additional internet polling of subsequent versions has added or worsened an existing problem.
Strongly agree. I tried 12.4 for 3 months and my conclusions are the same as yours. Unfortunately Avid is not willing to let me use 12.4 permanently and they want me to buy reinstatement upgrade plan to do it. ridiculous
__________________
PT HD 2018.1, Mac Pro 2013, Digidesign Command 8, Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 09-06-2017, 06:33 AM
Guilla Guilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: pARIS
Posts: 106
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

For everyone that has spiked here, I have an IMPORTANT question :

On what Drive do you mix ? Internal SSD ? External HDD ? External SSD ?

And how full is your drive 20/30/80 % ?

And finally what Cache Size are you using ? (it's can be see with the buffer size window).

And finally finally (haha ^^), do you often clean your session with (Mac) Command Shift U / Command Shift B ?

I've tried to change my workflow and I've moved to a cheap External HDD, pretty full, I've put the disk cache to 10 Go, and I regularly clean the session. The spikes are a lot less prominent.
If I have spike I have to provoke them a lot more : playing the song and moving really fast between all the fader in the mixwindow, printing the song and doing some other stuff on the internet if the song is pretty charged in plugins etc...
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 09-06-2017, 09:29 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 108
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

Thanks for this but these sort of fixes

1. Imply that the -9173 are in some way because of some action or inaction of the user.

2. don't help those who are getting -9173 on empty sessions

(I have tested using internal flash, internal SSDs and external Avastor Avid approved USB3/Firewire Hard drives on empty and semi full drives with 3-5gb cache.)

These videos are the most conclusive evidence I could come up with that somethings not right:

Avid only plugins, wifi on using AMD video:

Link

Avid only plugins, wifi off using AMD video:

Link

Avid only plugins, wifi off, integrated graphics:

Link

Avid only plugins, wifi off, integrated graphics, fans forced to high speed:

Link

If you can't be bothered to watch the upshot is that with wifi off and using the integrated graphics and forcing the fan speed on a 2015 MacBook Pro 2.8 i7 reduces -9173s.

It appears that graphic activity is causing or exacerbating this problem as can be proved if you download the demo song I linked a few pages back and flick through the window configuration memory locations whist playing.

It also appears to my untrained eye that processor throttling is interacting with certain plugins code in an undesirable way. This would maybe explain why Avid themselves told me to remove Eleven and Abbey Road Plates from my test sessions.

It seems that perhaps additional internet activity by pro tools is also a factor as born out by post 12.4 versions throwing up more -9173s
__________________
_____________________________________________

Pro Tools 2018.12 - MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 Mid 2015 16 GB RAM 1TB Flash SSD - macOS 10.13.6

Pro Tools 2018.7 - 0db Hackintosh 4.0 Ghz i7 32 GB RAM 256GB Flash SSD - macOS 10.12.2
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 09-06-2017, 04:00 PM
Guilla Guilla is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: pARIS
Posts: 106
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbree View Post
Thanks for this but these sort of fixes

1. Imply that the -9173 are in some way because of some action or inaction of the user.

2. don't help those who are getting -9173 on empty sessions

(I have tested using internal flash, internal SSDs and external Avastor Avid approved USB3/Firewire Hard drives on empty and semi full drives with 3-5gb cache.)

These videos are the most conclusive evidence I could come up with that somethings not right:

Avid only plugins, wifi on using AMD video:

Link

Avid only plugins, wifi off using AMD video:

Link

Avid only plugins, wifi off, integrated graphics:

Link

Avid only plugins, wifi off, integrated graphics, fans forced to high speed:

Link

If you can't be bothered to watch the upshot is that with wifi off and using the integrated graphics and forcing the fan speed on a 2015 MacBook Pro 2.8 i7 reduces -9173s.

It appears that graphic activity is causing or exacerbating this problem as can be proved if you download the demo song I linked a few pages back and flick through the window configuration memory locations whist playing.

It also appears to my untrained eye that processor throttling is interacting with certain plugins code in an undesirable way. This would maybe explain why Avid themselves told me to remove Eleven and Abbey Road Plates from my test sessions.

It seems that perhaps additional internet activity by pro tools is also a factor as born out by post 12.4 versions throwing up more -9173s
Have you tried to disable hyper threading ?
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 09-07-2017, 03:59 AM
Burbree Burbree is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: London
Posts: 108
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guilla View Post
Have you tried to disable hyper threading ?
Yes!

Look around in this ^ thread feels like deja vu!

There's swathes of people including me who are getting -9173s on 30-40% with third party plug-ins.. It appears that yes Avid stock plugins seem to start playing up when pushing the processor a little harder, but not excessively so. Try downloading this version of the Avid Demo song which only has Avid plugins in it and try it for yourself. With hyper threading disabled it still only hits 68% maximum on my MacBook Pro. Once you start flicking through those memory locations watch the 9173s flow. The "Adding virtual cores to real cores" argument is placing blame at the user door, but doesn't add up..
__________________
_____________________________________________

Pro Tools 2018.12 - MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz i7 Mid 2015 16 GB RAM 1TB Flash SSD - macOS 10.13.6

Pro Tools 2018.7 - 0db Hackintosh 4.0 Ghz i7 32 GB RAM 256GB Flash SSD - macOS 10.12.2

Last edited by Burbree; 09-07-2017 at 04:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 09-13-2017, 07:14 PM
kirkwylde04 kirkwylde04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burbree View Post
Yes!

Look around in this ^ thread feels like deja vu!

There's swathes of people including me who are getting -9173s on 30-40% with third party plug-ins.. It appears that yes Avid stock plugins seem to start playing up when pushing the processor a little harder, but not excessively so. Try downloading this version of the Avid Demo song which only has Avid plugins in it and try it for yourself. With hyper threading disabled it still only hits 68% maximum on my MacBook Pro. Once you start flicking through those memory locations watch the 9173s flow. The "Adding virtual cores to real cores" argument is placing blame at the user door, but doesn't add up..

Been my point all along. Avid are effectively charging their user base to beta their product. They blame us for the architectural flaw in their own product and there are only crickets chirping when users explain that the spikes occur with either no plugins at all; empty sessions; only avid plugins; no wi fi, wif fi on....blah blah blah. Bottom line they have screwed up their audio engine somewhere since making track freezing and offline bouncing possible. Which for those of us experienced enough to remember PTLE without these features and yearning for them, now find ourselves cringing.

I will go ahead and admit it: while I was studying I ran PTLE 8 on a MacBook Pro with cracked plugin from waves, softube, soundtoys...the list goes on. That machine ran SOLID. Now I use a totally 100% paid for system with plugins only from Slate, Waves, Soundtoys, and IK Multimedia and I am seriously S$%TTING myself every time I work in front of clients because the stability deficit is utterly embarrassing.

And Avid effectively blame me for my computer(s).
stooges on here are all "I wouldn't use a Lenovo for audio" blah blah.... news flash: ANY modern computer with i7 chipset should stably run a DAW with 32 channels of audio at 128bps latency without plugins instantiated. EASY.

Screw Avid. Pro Tools is lost for now...
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 09-13-2017, 07:22 PM
kirkwylde04 kirkwylde04 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 20
Default Re: Random CPU Spikes (-9173 errors)

I accept my post is not helpful if you are trying to diagnose your own issues.

Sorry about that.

But TBH I am not even bothering to try to solve it anymore. I am simply hoping that the Avid code boffins are secretly (it would have to be secretly because they haven't admitted any fault at this point) fixing the obvious code problem they sold us and will resolve it in an update soon.

AVID- A Very Insidious Disease
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAE 9173 Pro Tools ran out of CPU power Kinh Pro Tools 11 223 12-10-2017 09:39 AM
Pro tools running out of CPU power AAE-9173 ccapretta macOS 4 12-07-2015 07:27 AM
CPU Power issues AAE -9173 errors Cryos Pro Tools 11 3 11-01-2015 03:39 AM
Pro Tools ran out of CPU power. AAE -9173 graj Pro Tools 12 13 10-27-2015 12:34 PM
Pro Tools ran out of CPU power - Error Code AAE-9173 dewmi Pro Tools 12 1 10-24-2015 10:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com