Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-26-2020, 09:04 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,691
Default Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

I've been basically ignoring the end of Quicktime functionality in Pro Tools with Catalina as none of my machines nor any of the studio rigs I'm on will be on Catalina anytime soon, but it's starting to crop up with clients.

Just looking for some input on an alternate workflow for quickly generating ref movies with audio from the Pro Tools timeline, selecting only a small portion of the video to be bounced. I assume we're going to be stuck with exporting audio and marrying to video in a third party app (shutter encoder? Optimus?) - anybody have any thoughts on current best/fastest/simplest ways to handle this workflow?

TIA,
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-26-2020, 09:19 AM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 415
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

Hey Rich.
Assuming you’re working with DNx video in Pro Tools?

What I do is create an h.264 version of the clients reference video. When it comes time to making my “mix for approval” I’ll import the h.264 version into my timeline and then bounce to quicktime using that video. I’ve never had any issues or complaints from clients.

Alternatively, you could use a streaming platform such as Vimeo but those services cost extra money. However, if the video you’re sending out for approval is large it’s most likely you’re already using an FTP server or something like it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-26-2020, 03:50 PM
minister's Avatar
minister minister is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 4,810
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
Hey Rich.
Assuming you’re working with DNx video in Pro Tools?

What I do is create an h.264 version of the clients reference video. When it comes time to making my “mix for approval” I’ll import the h.264 version into my timeline and then bounce to quicktime using that video. I’ve never had any issues or complaints from clients.
Yes, this is pretty standrd for now, but this won't work in Pro Tools in Catlina as Quicktime is a 32bit Application.

I don't know (yet) how to do this in Catalina. Not sure what the MXF options are, but interested in learning.
__________________
Tom Hambleton CAS
Ministry of Fancy Noises
IMDb
Undertone on Facebook
Undertone Custom Sound Libraries

"Groupable markers would be epochal!"
-Starcrash
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-26-2020, 04:09 PM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,186
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

For now (and I find it a bit convoluted) using FF works (an FFmpeg gui) to wrap picture in an MXF wrapper and then bringing it into Pro Tools. For short segments/audio clips, bounce audio on frame boundaries (grid mode) and then replace audio and segment video again in FF works. FFworks/ffmpeg is fast and I can let it batch process anything in the background.

But Pro Tools will drive me to VideoSlave soon if they can't sort out an export method by the time I move completely over to Catalina (luckily not yet but that will happen with the new machine coming this year.) Though still not in the timeline, it removes a few steps and can export clips with replaced audio without having to leave a synced picture system.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-27-2020, 08:30 AM
Rich Breen Rich Breen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Burbank, CA USA
Posts: 1,691
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by BScout View Post
...then replace audio and segment video again in FF works. FFworks/ffmpeg is fast...


But Pro Tools will drive me to VideoSlave soon if they can't sort out an export method by the time I move completely over to Catalina....

Thanks to all who responded. Pretty much as messy as I feared - I guess I'll get familiar with the ffmpeg workflow and probably will consider the VideoSlave option also if nothing changes soon.


thanks!
rich
__________________
http://www.richbreen.com

----------------------------------------
MacPro 5,1 Dual Hex, OS 10.12.6, PT 2018 HDX, Avid HD I/Os and Metric Halo ULN8, Avid C24.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2020, 02:54 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 432
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

I use QT Pro to do this all the time completely ignoring bounce to quicktime so I'll hit that problem soon. Bounce the audio the exact length of the qt and paste it on to the video in QT pro. Delete the old audio track, save as and your done

VideoSlave seems to be useful on all fronts for the future
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2020, 06:31 AM
StefB's Avatar
StefB StefB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 457
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

FF-Works or Switch

Very quick and easy
__________________
Mac 8 Core 6,1 -Os 10.12.6 - 64 gb Ram - Protools 12.8 HDX - 8x8x8+8 ch DA Card - DCommand ES24 - Sync HD - Video Satelite (Symphony 8.9.1 on 4 Core Mac Pro Dustbin with AJA Kona 3g) Soundminer 4.5 Pro
Protools 12.8.0 Vanilla in 2 x Edit suites one with S3 and one with Mackie Control.
Mediacomposer 8.9.1 on AJA Kona 3g x 3 suites
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2020, 08:51 AM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 677
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

Switch will not make a ProRes file like QT
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.10 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2020, 08:06 PM
its2loud its2loud is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 415
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by minister View Post
Yes, this is pretty standrd for now, but this won't work in Pro Tools in Catlina as Quicktime is a 32bit Application.

I don't know (yet) how to do this in Catalina. Not sure what the MXF options are, but interested in learning.

I don’t understand. h.264 is a supported format for Catalina. You asked how clients with Catalina can watch review videos. If you don’t like that option use Apple ProRes


Formats compatible with macOS Catalina
These video, audio, still-image, and container formats are compatible with iMovie on Mac computers with macOS Catalina:

Video formats
Apple Animation Codec
Apple Intermediate Codec
Apple ProRes
AVCHD (including AVCCAM, AVCHD Lite, and NXCAM)
DV (including DVCAM, DVCPRO, and DVCPRO50)
H.264
HDV
HEVC
iFrame
Motion JPEG (OpenDML only)
MPEG-4 SP
Photo JPEG
XAVC-S
Still-image formats
BMP
GIF
HEIF
JPEG
PNG
PSD
RAW
TGA
TIFF

Audio formats
AAC
AIFF
BWF
CAF
MP3
MP4
RF64
WAV
Container formats
3GP
AVI
M4V
MOV (QuickTime)
MP4
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-30-2020, 09:58 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 476
Default Re: Bounce to Quicktime alternative workflow

Quote:
Originally Posted by its2loud View Post
I don’t understand. h.264 is a supported format for Catalina. You asked how clients with Catalina can watch review videos. If you don’t like that option use Apple ProRes
Not its not a problem for the clients. According to Avid we won't be able to a Bounce to QuickTime at all because that component of PT was 32 bit and relied on legacy QT. So until they rewrite video export we're stuck relying on external solutions.

It's been said before but worth repeating - it's a little embarrassing that Avid, the leader in video, hasn't worked this out by now. I just hope that while they're shoehorning the MC rendering into PT that they dumb it down enough so it's a few clicks and not the massive amount of settings in MC. And we really need to be able to import and transcode video without relying on external software. I think I requested that 10 years ago.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2019.6 Bug? Quicktime bounce w/o sound when online bounce peterle Pro Tools 2019 6 09-07-2019 12:27 AM
Quicktime: there's an alternative? Retinal 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 9 11-02-2007 09:51 AM
QuickTime/MachineControl Workflow Request for v7.2 Chief Technician Post - Surround - Video 38 04-28-2006 12:03 PM
Is there any alternative to the real-time BOUNCE? Damon Hoydysh 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 12-09-2004 01:49 PM
alternative to bounce to disk georgedk 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-14-2004 10:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com