Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2020

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-22-2020, 10:08 PM
iamkimosabi iamkimosabi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Commit / Freeze / Rendering Tracks causing Pro Tools to freeze or crash

System Specs:
2010 Mac Pro 12 Core Xeon 2.66ghz
96gb DDR3 Ram
512gb SSD MacOS Drive
512gb SSD Session Drive
1tb SSD Sample Drive

MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
Pro Tools 2020.3


I am currently working a session with mixed audio tracks and virtual instruments that runs just fine, but when committing a track or freezing a track / tracks....the DAW fails and freezes, until I "Force Quit" the application.

The track count isn't too bad, about 8 Virtual Instruments and 7 Audio Tracks.

I tested other sessions, and I have the same issue...committing a virtual instrument takes insanely long compared to Logic Pro X or Cubase 10.5. Not sure what I have wrong and im pretty sure this can't be the norm. Any helpful advice would be much appreciated. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-23-2020, 03:13 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,267
Default Re: Commit / Freeze / Rendering Tracks causing Pro Tools to freeze or crash

What exact vi's are you using? Have you tried changing vi's to see what happens?


Is your ram split correctly - 3x16 gig on each side in the correct slots?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-23-2020, 06:25 AM
iamkimosabi iamkimosabi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Default Re: Commit / Freeze / Rendering Tracks causing Pro Tools to freeze or crash

I am using Xpand2, Kontakt, and Omnisphere.

Even the audio tracks have issues when committing / freezing.

Yes 3 sticks on each side. I don't think it's my Mac Pro configuration, as i've said Logic Pro x renders tracks in a few seconds, as well as Cubase Pro 10.5.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commit/Freeze or something else? joeydego Pro Tools 2018 4 09-03-2018 02:24 PM
Commit or Freeze with Heat (HDX) causes Pro Tools HD to hang DetroitT Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 23 10-18-2017 02:51 PM
Vacuum VI won't Freeze or Commit? Bushpig Pro Tools 12 8 12-24-2016 11:52 PM
Rolling back to 11 with Commit tracks and Freeze Intransit Pro Tools 12 8 03-23-2016 05:41 PM
ILok Programs Causing Freeze inLaunch of Pro Tools cscottshepherd 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 10 03-29-2006 02:25 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com